CELTICLADY'S REVIEWS   

Friday, October 31, 2014

Shamrocks & Secrets by Cayce Poponea Spotlight with Excerpt!

Shamrocks & Secrets
by Cayce Poponea
Publication Date: October 2014
Cover Design: Mayhem Cover Creations

Synopsis

Event planning, dealing with demanding clients and defusing situations before they get out of hand are all in a days work for Christi O'Rourke. But when a mystery man seems to appear at every turn will she have the ability to handle him as well? Power and wealth are staples in the world of Patrick Malloy. But when family obligations dictate his future, a future involving a certain spirited young woman, will Patrick have what it takes to win her heart or will his lifestyle place her in more danger than he ever dreamed of?

Purchase Links

 Excerpt

I turned quickly in the direction of the voice. Standing there in all of his glory and entourage was Patrick Malloy. His grey shirt had the top two buttons undone and his blazer matched his pants. His hair was in this incredible disarray, on any other man it would have looked unkempt, but on him, it was sexy. His eyes, however, were black and his face was absent of emotion. The room seemed to grow very quiet as he waited for Kevin to answer his question. He then turned his attention to me. "Legs, care to elaborate?" I didn't know if it was the alcohol or because I was really pissed that Kevin was taking up air at the moment, but the fact that he couldn't say my name really pissed me the f*ck off. "Okay, first of all, my name is not Legs, it's Christi. That sh*t just pisses me off to no end. I have a f*cking name, Patrick, and I'd appreciate it if you'd f*cking use it when you address me." The look on his face changed as I proceeded to stick my finger in his face, well more like his chest as he was considerable taller than myself. I watched as a tiny smirk began to form at the corner of his mouth. I didn't let him speak as I continued my word vomit.


"This waste of f*cking skin here is the father of my beautiful niece, Abigail, and the f*cker knows it, too. He hasn't seen her in years and he refuses to pay one goddamn dime of court-ordered child support. So yes, Mr. Malloy, you have a low-life motherf*cking dead-beat father working for you." His expression changed from the cocky smirk to now one of anger. I should have been afraid of this quick change, but in reality, I was starting to get turned on.

About the Author

Cayce Poponea is from southern Georgia. Where the days are hot and the nights are even hotter. Loving nothing more than to find a cool place to invite you into the world that she loves most. A world where every man is perfect and every woman is desirable. Where life is a little easier, less about what you need to do and more about what you want to do. Open the pages and find your spot in the world she has created, who knows you may never want to leave. When Cayce isn’t writing, she enjoys time with her husband. Riding around on the back of her husbands motorcycle, most of the time with no destination in mind. Reading has always been a passion for Cayce. She discovered early the secret world it has hidden in its pages. From dragons to princesses with knights in shinning armor. Now that she is older, men with perfect bodies and words that make your heart melt. Women who know what they want and are willing to go after it.

Author Links

Giveaway


Happy Book Release!



 

Title: The Gladiator’s Bride
Author: Nhys Glover
Release Date: November 1st
Genre: Historical Romance
Blurb:

Crippled by shyness, shunned for being not-right-in-the-head, gifted artist and Roman noblewoman, Marcia Mica, has only two people in the world who truly love her – her teacher, Daedalus, and her childhood friend, Asterion, both slaves in her father’s household. But when forbidden love blooms between the unlikely friends, only disaster can come of it. That disaster leaves Marcia horribly scarred and Asterion sold into the arena as a gladiator. 

Years later, Daedalus brings a broken Marcia to Britannia, and Sabrina, the healer who saved his life when he was a boy, works miracles on the scarred girl. However, not all scars are physical and those Sabrina has no ability to heal. 

When Sabrina and Marcia are kidnapped by a Celtic leader bent on revenge, Asterion must depend on the dreams of a Celtic Seer to find the love of his life and help foil a revolt that threatens the fragile peace in Roman Britannia. But even if he and his friends succeed, can scars that are more than just physical ever really be healed and can those whose lives are owned by others ever truly be free to follow their hearts?

Book Trailer:


Author bio:

After a lifetime of teaching others to appreciate the written word, Aussie author Nhys Glover finally decided to make the most of the Indie Book Revolution to get her own written word out to the world. Now, with almost 100,000 of her ebooks downloaded internationally and a winner of 2013 SFR Galaxy Award for 'The Titan Drowns', Nhys finds her words, too, are being appreciated.

At home in the beautiful Yorkshire Dales of England, Nhys these days spends most of her time "living the dream" by looking out over the moors as she writes the kind of novels she loves to read: The ones that are a little bit steamy, a little bit different and wholly romantic.

Author  Links:





Thursday, October 30, 2014

Stashes by PJ Colando Spotlight!


About the Book

Jackie and Steve Breeden, Baby Boomer parents, have built a solid, idyllic life on a small Midwestern farm. Aching body parts remind them that they are not getting any younger, and neither are their dreams. They long to get their lives on the road like their hero, the late Charles Kuralt.. Opportunity arrives when their married son loses his job - and home to foreclosure. They become reverse empty nesters, and buy a Winnebago to cut loose and explore America.

Son Brandon, and his ambitiously conniving wife Amy, embody their generation’s prevailing sense of entitlement. Before the older couple departs, Amy embellishes the micro-dairy business by growing and selling marijuana edibles, dragging Jackie into the scheme. As the local bank vice president, Amy secretly increases the amount of the Home Equity Line of Credit that financed the Winnebago. Oops - adventures and adversities ensue.

Stashes reaches behind the sensational headlines about job downsizing, recession, foreclosure, medical marijuana, and generational conflicts of ideals, expectations, and values to show how these issues can actually play out in comical real time. Our times.




About the Author

As a licensed speech-language pathologist I have written thousands of clinical reports – and some of them contained fabulous fiction. Now I write for fun and freedom of expression.
Flash fiction, short stories, and personal essays have been published in magazines, including ‘ASHA Leader’, ‘Lit Centnral’, ‘Orange Coast’ and ‘The Lutheran Message’, newspapers, and non-profit newsletters. My work has also been included in the anthologies: Open to InterpretationThe BiscuitShe Writes, and Wisdom Has a Voice.
My Americana humor novel, STASHES, was published in June 2014, the first in a series. The next book will be HASHES AND BASHES. Don’t you wonder what it’s about? Purchase STASHES and there will be clues.
I relish oral reads, including Dime Stories , Literary Posse, and LIT UP! I’d loveto come to talk with your book clubs, groups of writers/readers. I have an extensive public speaking resume. I provide home baked goodies and prizes.
My husband, Larry, and I are also widely traveled, a quest endowed by my parents. We grew up in small towns in the Midwest and now live in southern California. We feel deeply grounded, yet we crave adventure. No kids, no pets, lots of friends, and few financial obligations: what a life we’ve created, fellow Baby Boomers!  Come join…via my writing.
I write while my husband watches sports (read: often). He calls me a walking exclamation point! I dash –
I’m told there’s sunshine in my voice. I am having a blast!

Gypsy Hunted by Andrea Drew




BLURB:

Reluctant psychic Gypsy Shields—she prefers the term "intuition consultant"—finds herself in trouble when, on her way home from a blind date, she interrupts a kidnapping in progress. She attempts to intervene, and her heroics are repaid with a collision between the attacker's van and a brick wall. She awakens in the hospital, paralyzed on her left side and unable to speak. This also means she's unable to share her vital information as a witness. Fortunately, she is able to use her telepathic connection with her niece to throw a line out to a police detective she knows: Connor Reardon, her blind date.

Connor will do anything to protect Gypsy, and he listens to her claims of psychic power willingly, as he's concealing certain powers of his own. Nor are they all he's concealing. Gypsy senses a part of her new ally's mind is closed to her—what she cannot know is that Connor suspects the kidnapper is someone close to him, and the kidnapping victim holds secrets that will tear through Connor's department, putting careers and lives at risk. Including Gypsy, still in hospital and vulnerable as the attacker turns his sights on her once again.

Can she use her powers to track down the perpetrator and prevent her own murder?





Excerpt One:

As a telepath, I pick up on feelings and instinct more than most. Other people like to call me a psychic medium, but I’m not really comfortable with the label.  Apart from the fact that I do it for love, not money, I’m sure once someone learns I’m a telepath they conjure up images of dodgy fraudsters on stage at mass events, feeding grieving families what they desperately need. I’d rather not expose myself to more ridicule than necessary. My abilities happened almost by accident—apparently my grandmother was ‘fey,’ as my mother enjoyed mentioning.

I was sure the pinging, nagging doubt had something to do with Aaron’s home life. “What about you, Gypsy? What do you do?” Connor relaxed his posture, the glass poised before his mouth. He had taken on a different look, probably from the wine, or even better, from unfulfilled lust.

“I write business plans. I’ve also been told I have pretty damn good intuition.”

That seemed to spark Connor’s interest.  He pulled at the other earlobe.

“Oh yeah? What does your intuition tell you about me, then?”

“That you seem like a nice enough guy.”

Connor moistened his lips, which quivered with what I suspected was amusement as he sat legs wide apart

“And?”

“And you’re fishing for compliments that I’m not going to give you just yet.”

Connor threw his head back, indulging in a belly laugh. The rich, throaty sound filled me with pleasure. A smile I couldn’t suppress burst through.

“That’s a fair call, Gypsy, fair call.”

The silence was a comfortable one, our shared joke establishing the early threads of friendship.






AUTHOR Bio and Links:


Andrea Drew has been a commercial copy writer and resume writer for over a decade.

She's written for celebrity stylists, assisted business coaches and start-ups, written grants for not for profits, delivered marketing presentations to business owners, and attends Australian writing conventions.

Her self-published book "Pro Resumes Made Easy" has been downloaded over 40,000 times.

Andrea has one husband (more than enough), three kids, a pet rock (her daughters not hers), and a house in the suburbs, where she's hard at work on the second novel in the Gypsy series.

Email her at andrea@andrea-drew.com.

Gypsy Hunted her first fiction novel (her first suspense thriller set in her home town of Melbourne Australia) is available for pre-order on Amazon prior to release on October 28 2014.

Social Media LInks

Twitter: https://twitter.com/drewwriter

GoodReads: https://www.goodreads.com/andreadrew

Gypsy Hunted Available for Pre Order on Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Gypsy-Hunted-Hunter-Knows-Where-ebook/dp/B00N9Q9PYY/

Blog: http://andreadrewauthor.wordpress.com/










Palmetto Moon by Kim Boykin Review!



June, 1947. Charleston is poised to celebrate the biggest wedding in high-society history, the joining of two of the oldest families in the city. Except the bride is nowhere to be found…Unlike the rest of the debs she grew up with, Vada Hadley doesn’t see marrying Justin McLeod as a blessing—she sees it as a life sentence. So when she finds herself one day away from a wedding she doesn’t want, she’s left with no choice but to run away from the future her parents have so carefully planned for her.

In Round O, South Carolina, Vada finds independence in the unexpected friendships she forms at the boarding house where she stays, and a quiet yet fulfilling courtship with the local diner owner, Frank Darling. For the first time in her life, she finally feels like she’s where she’s meant to be. But when her dear friend Darby hunts her down, needing help, Vada will have to confront the life she gave up—and decide where her heart truly belongs.


For More Information


Kim Boykin was raised in her South Carolina home with two girly sisters and great parents. She had a happy, boring childhood, which sucks if you’re a writer because you have to create your own crazy. PLUS after you’re published and you’re being interviewed, it’s very appealing when the author actually lived in Crazy Town or somewhere in the general vicinity.
Almost everything she learned about writing, she learned from her grandpa, an oral storyteller, who was a master teacher of pacing and sensory detail. He held court under an old mimosa tree on the family farm, and people used to come from all around to hear him tell stories about growing up in rural Georgia and share his unique take on the world.
As a stay-at-home mom, Kim started writing, grabbing snip-its of time in the car rider line or on the bleachers at swim practice. After her kids left the nest, she started submitting her work, sold her first novel at 53, and has been writing like crazy ever since.
Thanks to the lessons she learned under that mimosa tree, her books are well reviewed and, according to RT Book Reviews, feel like they’re being told across a kitchen table. She is the author of The Wisdom of Hair from Berkley, Steal Me, Cowboy and Sweet Home Carolina from Tule, and Palmetto Moon, also from Berkley 8/5/14. While her heart is always in the Lowcountry of South Carolina, she lives in Charlotte and has a heart for hairstylist, librarians, and book junkies like herself.
For More Information
My Thoughts
1947 Charleston is the setting for Palmetto Moon. Vada Hadley is a young woman who is to be married to a man she despises. She tries desperately to figure a way out but the only way is to run. Run she does but not too far from home to a little town not far from Charleston. She moves in to a boarding house with very little money and is accepted for a position as teacher. While living in the boarding house she meets Claire, a young widow with three little boys who is looking for a man to help her raise her two boys. Frank Darling runs the local restaurant and falls in love immediately the first time he sees Vada. They each have their own secrets but start seeing each other romantically. Vada is also looking for Darby, a longtime friend, who Vada wants to reconnect with and make sure she is doing well.

In the meantime Vada's father and ex fiance, Justin, are looking for Vada and do eventually find her. Will she go back with them and marry Justin or will she go where her heart is? Well for the answer, you need to read the book and find out. I liked Vada because even though this is 1947, just after the war, where woman, especially in the South, have strict rules to follow. They do what their fathers require, marry the man that generally is picked by the father, an arranged marriage if you will. Vada is a strong character and wants to lead her own life even if that means being estranged from her accustomed way of life. Frank Darling is a hard working average man who will do anything for Vada. I did not like Justin at all, a pompous jerk, not at all what Vada needs for a life partner.

This is a character driven novel that depicts life in the south, not only with its prejudices and hatred. Characters who are full of life and meaning, who will grab your heartstrings. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and highly recommend it. 

I received a copy of this book for review and was not monetarily compensated for said review.

The Match Maker by Karey White Book Blast!

Match Maker Book Cover


The Match Maker by Karey White (The Husband Maker #2) (Summary contains spoilers if you have not yet read book #1 The Husband Maker) It’s been six months since Charlotte and Kyle broke up, and the Husband Maker strikes again. Kyle is officially engaged, while Charlotte is still nursing a broken heart. In an effort to get Charlotte out of her rut, she and her best friend decide it’s time for some good old-fashioned matchmaking. While Aleena arranges for Charlotte to meet up with a handsome Scottish tourist, Charlotte gets her two best friends together. But when sparks start to fly between Aleena and Angus, Charlotte is left feeling more alone that ever--at least until the charming Scotsman becomes more than just a safe, rebound guy and teaches her that maybe, just maybe, she can dare to open her heart again.
The Match Maker releases on November 1st
Order your copy Now!
 
Match Maker

Don't miss the Blog Tour hosted by I Am A Reader November 4th to 21st Tour Schedule

The Husband Maker new


The Husband Maker by Karey White Charlotte’s a girl with nicknames. She may not love being called Charles or Chuck, but the hardest nickname to take is the one she was given in college, the one that’s followed her now for too many years. They call her “the husband maker” and sadly, it fits. Every guy she's dated since high school has gone on to marry the next girl they date. Not two or three girls down the road. The very next one. Is she doing something wrong or is she just cursed? When Kyle Aldsworth enters the picture and sweeps her off her feet, Charlotte begins to hope that maybe she's not destined to be single forever. A senator’s son with political aspirations of his own, Kyle's wealthy, handsome, and in need of a wife. Will Charlotte be disappointed yet again, or will she finally be able to make a husband for herself?
Karey White


Author Karey White Karey White grew up in Utah, Idaho, Oregon, and Missouri. She attended Ricks College and Brigham Young University. Her first novel, Gifted, was a Whitney Award Finalist. She loves to travel, read, bake treats, and spend time with family and friends. She and her husband are the parents of four great children. She teaches summer creative writing courses to young people and is currently working on her next book.

    $75 Book Blast Giveaway $75 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash Ends 11/23/14 Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the publisher. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.  

  a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, October 29, 2014

iPad Mini Giveaway Blogger Event!

iPad Mini Holiday Giveaway Event 11/16-12/14 Sign ups end 11/11

Blogger Giveaway Event Sign Up

iPad Mini Holiday Giveaway Event 11/16-12/14 Sign ups end 11/11 Join me and Poshonabudget.com for this iPad Mini Holiday Giveaway Event FREE Links Available. Cohosts $20 for 5 links What would you do withan iPad mini? Sign up/information

East India by Colin Falconer Spotlight!




In any other circumstance but shipwreck, rape and murder, a man like Michiel van Texel would never have met a fine lady such as Cornelia Noorstrandt.

He was just a soldier, a sergeant in the Dutch East India company’s army, on his way from Amsterdam to the Indies to fight the Mataram. Such a woman was far above the likes of him.

But both their destinies intertwine far away from Holland, on some god-forsaken islands near the Great Southland. When their great ship, the Utrecht, founders far from home, surviving the Houtman Rocks is the least of their worries.

As they battle to survive and the bravest and the best reveal themselves for what they are, Cornelia’s only hope is a mercenary in a torn coat who shows her that a man is more than just manners and money.

He makes her one promise: ‘Even if God forsakes you, I will find you.’

But can he keep it?

Described by one critic as ‘Jack and Rose in the seventeenth century’, East India will keep you wondering until the final page.





About the Author

Born in London, Colin first trialed as a professional football player in England, and was eventually brought to Australia. He went to Sydney and worked in TV and radio and freelanced for many of Australia’s leading newspapers and magazines. He has published over twenty novels and his work has so far been translated into 23 languages.

He travels regularly to research his novels and his quest for authenticity has led him to run with the bulls in Pamplona, pursue tornadoes across Oklahoma and black witches across Mexico, go cage shark diving in South Africa and get tear gassed in a riot in La Paz.

He currently lives in Barcelona.


Purchase Links
Amazon
Barnes & Noble (Nook)
Google Play
iTunes
Kobo


Watch Video Here

The Publicist by Christina George Spotlight with Giveaway!




It's finally here, the long-awaited sequel to The Publicist! CLIMAX by Christina George is the final installment in the series. It comes in two parts:

The Covers





Here is the Bundled set version:



About the Book


Release date: December 15, 2014. You can pre-order now!

Kate Mitchell has never forgiven herself for breaking Nick Lavigne’s heart. Now he’s back and he’s moved on, and it’s affecting Kate’s life more than she’s willing to admit.

Kate Mitchell has everything. She's the head of a crazy successful publishing house, engaged to the traffic-stopping sexy Mac Ellis and she's about to sign one of the biggest authors of her career.

And that's when everything falls apart.

Everything is perfect…until it’s not.

In a city of 8 million people Kate manages to run into someone she never expected to see again.

Nick is handsome, impossibly kind, every girl’s dream, and Kate’s former fiancĂ©. He’s also the brother of the rising star author she’s trying to sign. Now that Nick’s back in town and has moved on he insists he’s over Kate, but part of him still can’t get past how amazing they were, and his sister won’t let anyone forget how brutally it ended.

When Mac is dealt a life-changing blow, it forces Kate to question every single choice she’s made.

Follow Kate as she embarks on a journey of life and love, navigating through the decisions that will change it all forever.




About the Author




Website  ~  Twitter  ~   Facebook  ~  Goodreads

Christina George has worked in publishing for twenty years (give or take). Here’s what this book isn't. It’s not a slam against publishing (though it is broken) and it’s not a slam against authors (though some of them are crazy). This book is not autobiographical though many of the stories are true. No you won’t know which ones, cause it’s more fun to guess, right? George continues to work in publicity and helps authors because at the end of the day she does love books, she loves publishing, and she loves authors. She hopes you’ll enjoy this romp through Kate’s world as much as she enjoyed creating it.


Let's Revisit the Characters...







Some Fun Stuff!



Head on over to Kate's site and listen to a sample of the audio book version of The Publicist and enter her Amazon gift card giveaway. She also has a playlist of songs for the book!

So which team are you on? Want to know who Kate ends up with?



Want to win a signed copy of all three books? How about a $20 Amazon Gift Card?

And now for the giveaway!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, October 28, 2014

Game by Cora Brent Cover Reveal!!


Game (Gentry Boys Series #3)
by Cora Brent
Publication Date: November 12
Cover Designer: Mayhem Cover Creations

 Synopsis

“What the hell did I do?  I’d gotten dirty with Chase Gentry, one of the most crass and vulgar guys I’d ever known.  But I need him.  And I hate that I need him.” 


Stephanie…

As a bookie, I know more about money lines, pay  sheets and point spreads than any six men.  I always thought I was in control until a rotten betrayal taught me otherwise.  The price was my dignity and I can’t bear to make any more mistakes.


Chase Gentry figured it would be easy to get to me.  He thought I was like every other girl, just dying to spread wide for him.  I knew it was a rotten gamble to get mixed up with a guy too smart and too hot for his own good.  Chase is destined to be as much trouble to those around him as he is to himself.  But it’s too late.  He’s already won my heart.

Everyone around us insists that we’re wrong for each other, too intense, too explosive.  Everyone might be right. 



Chase…

Gentry men aren’t supposed to be very bright.  We’re big.  We’re brutal.  Women can’t wait to invite us inside.  I know I can have any one of them I want any time I want.   


It seems unlikely that some bad-tempered chick and her New York attitude would keep my interest but here it is.  Stephanie has no idea what she does to me.  I want that girl in more ways than I can even talk about. 

It should have been enough to have her and be done with it.  But no matter how volatile we are together, it’s never enough.  To hell with anyone who objects.  I’m not letting her go.  

About the Author


I love wild romantic stories, grunge era flannel, my vintage Kenmore sewing machine, embroidered dishcloths and absolutely everything that has to do with 1980s pop culture (i.e. leg warmers, scrunchies, big hair, early Madonna, boom boxes, wood paneled walls, stonewash jeans, etc).


If you believe in Happily Ever After and the unique magic of a John Hughes film, chances are I'll love you too!!

Social Links
Goodreads Author Page: https://www.goodreads.com/CoraBrent


Promo Stars


Shatter Point by Jeff Altabef Blog Tour and Contest!




About the Book - About the Author - Prizes!!!

About the prizes: Who doesn't love prizes? You could win one of two $50 Amazon gift cards or an autographed copy of Shatter Point! Here's what you need to do...
  1. Enter the Rafflecopter contest
  2. Leave a comment on my blog
That's it! One random commenter during this tour will win the first gift card. Visit more blogs for more chances to win--the full list of participating bloggers can be found HERE. The other two prizes will be given out via Rafflecopter. You can find the contest entry form linked below or on the official Shatter Point tour page via Novel Publicity. Good luck!

  About the book: Maggie met Cooper at a young age, but even then she sensed something was wrong with him. His charm, good looks, and wealth could not hide the danger that burned in his sapphire eyes. Some nightmares don’t go away. He’d been haunting her from a distance for as long as she could remember. Now things have changed. When her sons Jack and Tom discover she’s been taken, they set out to rescue her and uncover nefarious family secrets, explosive government conspiracies, and a series of horrific murders along the way. Only their colorful great aunt and a covert resistance group can help them navigate the dark underworld full of political subterfuge and class warfare. All the while, Maggie struggles to outwit her tormentor in a life and death psychological battle of tense desperation. Will Jack and Tom arrive before Cooper reaches his shatter point?Get Shatter Point through Amazon or Barnes & Noble.




  About the author: Jeff Altabef lives in New York with his wife, two daughters, and Charlie the dog. He spends time volunteering at the writing center in the local community college. After years of being accused of “telling stories,” he thought he would make it official. He writes in both the thriller and young adult genres. Fourteenth Colony, a political thriller, was his debut novel. Shatter Point, a psychological thriller, is Jeff's second novel. Jeff is under contract with Evolved Publishing for a YA/Fantasy series he is co-authoring with his teenaged daugher. The first in the series Chosen: Wind Catcher is set to be releasded in March. As an avid Knicks fan, Jeff is prone to long periods of melancholy during hoops season. Jeff has a column on The Examiner focused on writing and a blog designed to encourage writing by those that like telling stories. Connect with Jeff on his website, Facebook, Twitter,or GoodReads..


a Rafflecopter giveaway


Detective Lessons by Bill Larkin Spotlight with Giveaway!!
















$2 Today Only!!
Book Details:
Genre: Crime Fiction
Published by: Spyglass Press
Publication Date: 9/16/14
Number of Pages: 237
ISBN: 978-0-9894002-2-0
Purchase Links:

Synopsis:
When a wealthy real estate developer convinces Orange County Sheriff’s Deputy Kevin Schmidt to search for his missing son, Schmitty senses trouble. It’s not the fact that it’s a prohibited side job, it’s the fact that he has to team up with Megan McCann, an attractive private investigator with her own set of rules.
Finding a body in the trunk of a BMW sends Schmitty and Megan on an adrenalized trail through Southern California unraveling a sophisticated real estate scam. A run-in with the LAPD and some hardcore gang members opens new perspectives on the case, and they begin to glimpse a shocking web of greed and corruption.
The situation suddenly becomes more complex - and personal – when the billionaire takes matters into his own hands and Schmitty’s own department gets involved. When Schmitty and Megan go to Catalina Island to track down the one man who may know everything, they uncover a secret that could make or break the billionaire. And when Schmitty miscalculates the man, it could get them killed. Before all this, Schmitty had been unfairly outcast in his department. Now he’s here to protect and serve. To make justice prevail and figure out who to bring down.

Read an excerpt:
I grabbed the door key from the envelope, but before I stuck it in the lock, I knocked. No answer. As I reached to insert the key, the door swung open.
The girl who filled the doorway was striking. My bet was she’d left behind a debris field of men, whoever she was. I guessed her age as early forties but it was always a little hard to tell in Newport Beach. Her long hair was the color of honey and her lips were glossy and just about perfect. She was dressed in jeans and a yellow blouse, and big hoop earrings dangled brightly. I couldn’t decide if she was more professional looking or playful looking. She held a cell phone in her hand and gave me an intent stare through pretty green eyes.
I said, “I’m looking for Jimmy Whelan. Is he here?”
“You’re Schmitty? Megan McCann. Pleased to meet you,” she said in a velvety voice.
She shook my hand then turned and left the door open as she walked inside with a purpose. She was making call on her cell and ignoring me as she poked around the kitchen drawers. Faint perfume lingered in the air and I liked the scent. She was too old be to Jimmy’s girlfriend.
She raised the phone to her ear and said, “We’re on it.”
She ended the call and gave me a look that seemed to say, what are you doing here? I was about to ask her who she was when my cell vibrated.
“Schmitty?”
I recognized Mac Whelan’s voice. “Mr. Whelan. I’m at Jimmy’s.”
“I know. You just met Megan McCann, also known as M Squared. She’s going to work with you.”
“Doing what?”
“She’s a private investigator I know. Extremely good at what she does. You’re a cop who knows Jimmy. I have no doubt you’ll find him working together.”
So life had been mocking me for a while, and now I was wondering if Mac Whelan was too.
“Private investigator? You told me you didn’t have anybody else to help.”
“Be a team player, Schmitty. And I get to pick the team. Keep me posted.” He disconnected.
I stared at the phone a moment then slid it into my pocket and smiled at her. “M Squared? That’s cute.”
“Not as cute as a Harbor Patrol cop tagging along with me. Triple A on the water with a gun. Are you going to be useful or just full of bullshit?”
I spread my hands. “Resourceful is my middle name.”
She smiled. “So mostly bullshit. Don’t stand around. Let’s turn this place and find something. It would brighten my life considerably.”


Author Bio:

Bill Larkin is the author of Detective Lessons, and several crime thriller short stories, including The Highlands, OC Confidential, The Deep End, and Shadow Truth. In addition to working in commercial real estate, Bill previously served as a Reserve Deputy with the Orange County Sheriff’s Department, then the Los Angeles Police Department where he last worked in a detective assignment. Bill is a member of the Mystery Writers of America and International Thriller Writers. He lives in Orange County, California.

Catch Up:


Win Your Copy of Detective Lessons:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Google+ Badge

Search This Blog

Loading...