CELTICLADY'S REVIEWS   

06 February, 2016

Tesserae: A Memoir of Two Summers by Mathias Freese Spotlight!


The quiescence found in Tesserae: A Memoir of Two Summers has a staying effect upon the mind; this memoir lingers in the reader’s memory for some time. – Steven Berndt, Professor of American Literature, College of Southern Nevada

In 1941 Citizen Kane premiered and the author was one year old. The snowglobe Rosebud weaves in and out of his memoir, cinema’s consummate symbol of attachment and separation, the classic dyad of the human being. And its precipitate -- loss.
This memoir discloses and reveals achingly so, often in astonishing and agonizing ways, one man’s travail. Freese is not satisfied to merely recall, to remember, but to metabolize what he has experienced throughout his seven decades. The furnace for his emergence into mature adulthood took place in the sixties, that irrepressible decade that changed America culture forever.
As a retired psychotherapist Freese knows that relationships between one human being with another is a critical human learning we master or we do not, for it facilitates our personally idiosyncratic journey through life.
Tesserae is not only a remembrance of things past but a reworking and critical recollection of experience and events Freese encountered in his late twenties.
The most telling – and compelling aspect – is his capacity to learn from struggle.
In the summers of ’68 and ’69 Freese lived in Woodstock, and his life was transformed. Tesserae richly explores how the counterculture kneaded him, how it enlarged his perspective, and how it encouraged him to be more open and express.
In his seventies now, Freese looks back not so much in regret but in knowing he had experienced that rare spiritual event, an awakening of intelligence. The reader now shares in his tested perceptions, his hard-earned observations about relationships; of how many of us go to our graves unknown to our selves.
Tesserae: A Memoir of Two Summers concludes on an existentialist note. A man who has faced considerable adversity in his life, Freese has prevailed.


Endorsement: “In reading Mathias Freese’s Tesserae, however, it becomes clear that this is no mere pastiche of other works; his memoir stands above much of the crowd in its commitment to ask, “What is it to remember? To recall, retrieve, reflect, to go back for a moment, to feel a period of time long since gone.” By posing these questions, Freese works within the answers by tenderly plaiting a web that spreads from Woodstock, Las Vegas, Long Island and North Carolina. The author locates friends and family, lovers now long since gone, desire and passion sometimes quenched sometimes unrequited, and the harrowing agony that comes from that most soul crushing word of all, regret.” Steven Berndt, M.A.

  • Tesserae: A Memoir of Two Summers by Mathias B. Freese; 
  • Wheatmark; Non-fiction; 
  • Soft Cover 
  • 978-1-62787-353-6 $12.95
MATHIAS B. FREESE is a writer, teacher and psychotherapist. His recent collection of essays, This Mobius Strip of Ifs, was the winner of the National Indie Excellence Book Award of 2012 in general non-fiction and a 2012 Global Ebook Award finalist. His I Truly Lament: Working Through the Holocaust was the winner of the Beverly Hills Book Awards, Reader’s Favorite Book Award, Finalist of the Indie Excellence Book Awards, and finalist at The Paris Book Festival and the Amsterdam Book Festival.




05 February, 2016

Mystery at Sag Bridge by Pat Camalliere Review!


A century-old murder mystery
A dangerous ghost
An amateur historian…
What binds them together?

Cora Tozzi is a retired businesswoman who, after nursing her mother through her final illness, wishes only for a peaceful orderly world in her suburban Chicago home. When an angry spirit begins to leave cryptic messages on her computer and threatens those around her, Cora is forced to dig into the town’s notorious past to uncover secrets that will free the bonds that tie her and the spirit. With the help of her husband and their friend, Frannie, Cora uses her skills as an amateur historian in a search that takes them into unexpected terrain including subterranean passages, an eerie graveyard, and shadowy paths in isolated forests where a sinister predator is awakened. As they battle unpredictable supernatural powers, the story takes a poignant turn: the spirit’s life is revealed, and both women, a century apart, examine threads into the past and the future, their loss, and longing linked across the generations.
 




An avid reader of mysteries and historical fiction, Pat Camalliere recently utilized her skills—developed writing historical papers and programs, newsletters, and website content—to create her debut novel, The Mystery at Sag Bridge. She is a member of Sisters in Crime and the Chicago Writers Association. She lives with her husband in Lemont, Illinois, a suburb of Chicago. Visit her website at patcamallierebooks.com.

My Thoughts

The Mystery at Sag Bridge is a fictional story of a haunting in a real place. The haunting is imagined by the author but the location is real. Lemont Illinois is a suburb of Chicago and according to history, has a number of hauntings in it's past. 

Cora Tozzi is now retired and just wants to live the years she has left with her husband Cisco. Cora has always been the victim of happenings that she can not explain in her life. Things being moved or misplaced, drawers opening on their own and other unexplained events. Cora has given  this 'ghost' the name of Angel as she thinks it might be a guardian angel protecting her. She gets used to these events and life goes on. She took care of her parents and her mother is recently deceased and the odd occurrences happen with more frequency. She decideds to try and figure out what she can and this leads her to an elderly woman who gives Cora a diary. This diary is from a young woman who lived in Lemont taking care of her mother and the farm along with her husband, her sister, and brother in law. 

Cora reads the diary and she starts to get messages on her computer that start to frighten her. Something wanting her help. As Cora gets further into the diary she is confused as what the spirit wants from her so she enlists the help of a priest from St.James Church. The spirit does not like this at all and on a visit to Cora and Cisco's home, he is attacked buy a wolf right in their front yard. The priest is badly hurt and can not help Cora in figuring out what she should do to get these manifestations to stop. She gets her hubby, who is skeptical at this point, and her friend Frannie to help. They scour old records that they find at the historical society and in the tunnel that they discover. 

Back in the day, there were tunnels under the town that made it easier for owners of shops to get their goods. Ships unloaded and then the goods were taken to each shop underground. The tunnels were eventually closed as the town back in the late 1800's started to suffer as business's started moving out of the area. As the 'ghost' becomes more ominous, it is imperative that Cora finds out what happened to cause the scary events that she and her husband are experiencing. 

As the story emerges it seems that a man was murdered in the churchyard along with his wife and infant  The killer was never found and Cora comes to the conclusion that the ghost is the woman wanting justice to be done. Now, Cora, Cisco, and Frannie are in a race against the clock to make things right before their own lives are endangered.

This is one of the best ghost stories I have read in a long time, I actually read this book in one sitting. I often wonder when you look at old pictures what were their lives like and what tragedy's befell them because most everyone has had some sort of tragedy in their family history. Pat Camalliere tells a story that is fiction but you never know, something like this could and maybe did happen. You just have to imagine. The cover? That is a picture of the church in the story that really existed and is not the site of the Lemont Historical Society.

I received a copy of this book for review and was not monetarily compensated for my thoughts.


Taking Leaps and Finding Ghosts by Janet DeLee Review!


Dreams aren’t just for the young, and Ginny Lawther is happy to prove that even at the age of fifty-eight she can still brave a leap of faith…she just needs a little prodding from like-minded individuals. Step one: place an ad in the local newspaper inviting other dreamers to form an Ideal Life Club. Step two: see if anyone shows up.

When Ginny meets four hopeful strangers at the first club meeting, she thinks they’re off to a great start.

Now it's only a matter of time before the sixty-something widow Hilda turns her crafting into a full-time career; the twenty-something Jerry becomes a professional musician, and the thirty-something housewife Lydia publishes her cookbook. That is, until the rugged divorcé, Lee, sets a goal to solve his ghost problem—and upends all their lives!

Suddenly the support group isn’t just trying to navigate the ups and downs of pursuing their dreams; they’re also wrestling with a strange cast of spirits who keep interrupting their endeavors. What do these apparitions want? And why have they latched on to the Ideal Lifers?

Haunting, humorous, and hopeful, Taking Leaps and Finding Ghosts sparks the imagination and breathes unexpected life into everyday reality.



Prolific writer and author, Janet DeLee is now a second-time author of two wonderful books. Her new release titled, 'Taking Leaps and Finding Ghosts, A Novel' is her best work to date.

Janet DeLee is a self-appointed, self-actualization guinea pig who firmly believes in leaps of faith and is committed to creating an ideal life for herself. 

The Texas author, who lives in the Dallas area, was inspired to write ghost stories after experiencing unsettling events during stays at several bed-and-breakfasts, as well as an old New Orleans hotel. 

In addition to having a hint of mystery, DeLee's novels also tend to follow characters struggling to pursue their dreams. Her unique writing style, storylines, and characters in her novels are born from this sassy little Texan's delightful imagination and personal experiences.

My Thoughts

Everyone has dreams, not all dreams are pursued or fulfilled, but you have to have dreams or why else exist? Dreams can be pursued at any age and that is what Ginny Lawther does. She places an ad in the local paper and waits. She goes to the place where the meeting is to take place and meets four people who are interested in the group. Hilda, Jerry, Lydia and Lee all have dreams and not sure how to go about doing anything to fulfill these dreams.

Ginny's goal is to have a dream cottage.
Hilda does crafts who wants to be able to sell what she makes at craft fairs and quit her job at a care facility.
Jerry is a musician who writes his own music and sings but has stage fright and his dream is to be able to perform in front of an audience.
Lydia loves to cook and wants to publish a cookbook.
Lee works in construction and his goal is to get rid of ghost problems he has on a lot of the sites he works on.

The object of this group is to help each other brainstorm and come up with ways that they can all attain their dreams. As chapters go by we learn the ways that each one of these people achieves what they wish for and their paths cross in more ways than they can imagine. A fun story with a ghostly element that tells us that anyone can get what they wish for, especially with help from others.

I received a copy of this book for review and was not monetarily compensated for my thoughts.

Dancing to an Irish Reel by Claire Fullerton Review!


Twenty five year old Hailey Crossan takes a trip to Ireland during her sabbatical from the Los Angeles record business. While on the trip, she is unexpectedly offered a job in the Irish music business that is too good to turn down, so she decides to stay.
Although Hailey works in Galway City, she lives in the rural area of Connemara, an area steeped in history and famous for its Irish traditional music. When Hailey meets famous Irish traditional musician, Liam Hennessey, a confusing relationship begins, which Hailey thinks may be the result of their differing cultures,for Liam is married to the music, and so unbalanced at the prospect of love, that he won't come closer nor completely go away. And so begins the push and pull of an attraction that Hailey struggles to decipher. Thankfully, a handful of local friends come to her aid, and Hailey comes to love a land and its people-- both with more charm than she ever imagined.
 




Claire Fullerton's second novel, "Dancing to an Irish Reel," ( fiction set on the western coast of Ireland) was released by Vinspire Publishing on March 17th, 2015. It was listed on Books go Social's Top 7 books to read the Holiday Season of 2015, and was the book blogger, Ronovan Hester of Ronovan Writes # 1 book to read of 2015. Claire is also the author of Paranormal Mystery, "A Portal in Time," (Vinspire.) She is a four time award winning essayist, a contributor to numerous magazines, a five time contributor to the "Chicken Soup for the Soul" book series, and a consistent contributor to The Wild Geese online Irish community. She hails from Memphis,TN and now lives in Malibu,CA. Claire is currently writing her third novel, which is a family saga set in the South based on her 2013 award winning essay in the San Francisco Writers Conference.

http://malibuclairefullerton.tumblr.com/
https://www.facebook.com/clairefuller


Purchase Links
Amazon
Goodreads

My Thoughts

Ah Ireland! Just thinking of Ireland makes me wistful. Dancing to an Irish Reel by Claire Fullerton is a story of a young woman, Hailey, who takes a trip to Ireland and ends up staying, albiet illegally as her visa expired, and working in an Irish music business helping to bring exposure to local talents. While there she meets a young talented traditional musician, Liam. Liam is a very quiet, reserved and broody young man and Hailey develops an attraction to him. 

The author weaves a wonderful story of Ireland, it's people and customs along with the two main characters, Hailey and Liam. With descriptive narratives, you can almost imagine that you are there and smell the peat bog and feel the mist on your skin! I really enjoyed this story and hope to read more by this author! Want a taste of Ireland? Then this read is a must!

I received a copy of this book for review and was not monetarily compensated.

$129 Gift Certificate Sponsored by Jord Watches #Woodwatches Giveaway!

Celticlady's Reviews is pleased to be part of this awesome giveaway! These watches are very unique and perfect for your Valentine!

JORD-Wood-Watch-Giveaway

Woodwatches.com Presents

The Prize

$129 Gift Certificate

Sponsored by

Jord Watches #Woodwatches

This Giveaway is Sponsored by Woodwatches.com and

is responsible to fulfill the Certificate direct to the winner.

Hosted by: Oh My Heartsie Girl // Me, Him and the Cats

And Thanks To These Wonderful Blogs That Are Helping To Promote The Opportunity


JORD #Woodwatches
And The Giveaway is Open To US and must be 18+ to enter Giveaway Dates: Starts on 2/5 And Ends 3/5/ 11:59 PM EST 11:59 PM EST

Rafflectopter
a Rafflecopter giveaway

And this giveaway is in conjunction with #XOXOXGiveaway so be sure to stop by each of the links in the linky to win more prizes + There Is A Grand Prize Here

There are 26 Different Giveaways Total Hosted by Heartbeats-Soul Stains/Deliciously Savvy & Life in a House of Testosterone

xoxo giveaway hop

Linky For Other Giveaways Here

Welcome to the XOXO Giveaway Hop! We've come together with a bunch of other blogs to bring you all a bunch of fun and cool giveaways.... This is a great way to find lots of giveaways to enter all in ONE place! Each blog will have their own giveaways with prizes ranging from $15 on up. Hop all around and enter to win as many giveaways as you choose.... lots of fun.
Disclosure: Deliciously Savvy, Heartbeats~ Soul Stains & Life in a House of Testosterone and all the other blogs participating in the XOXO Giveaway are not responsible for the fulfillment of prizes. Each blog will list the sponsor/blog responsible for each individual giveaway on their giveaway form/post. Social media such as Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest etc. are not affiliated with these giveaways.

Valentine Pets & Kisses: Fourteen All-New, Sweet Valentine Romances Release Tour with Giveaway!

04 February, 2016

Eating Healthy In The New Year Giveaway with IONutrition #IONutrition

healthyeating222

Celticlady's Reviews is pleased to be part of the Eating Healthy Giveaway! Enter below for your chance to win this awesome prize!

Deliciously Savvy Is Hosting A Healthy Eating Giveaway Sponsored By IONutrition! 2 Lucky Winners Will Receive 3 Paleo Breakfasts And 5 Paleo Entrees From IONutrition! Each Prize Pack Is Valued At $90 For A Total ARV Of $180! Enter Today & Good Luck!

Read My Review Of IONutrition Here

Sponsored By: IONutrition

Hosted By: Deliciously Savvy

Co-Hosted By:

Amy & Aron's Real Life Reviews // Heartbeats~ Soul Stains // Oh My Heartsie Girl // My Silly Little Gang // Box Roundup // DEALS, FREEBIES, REVIEWS, GIVEAWAYS // Capri's Coupons // IMHO Views, Reviews and Giveaways // Michigan Savings & More

PLUS a Big Thank You to All Of The Fabulous Bloggers Helping To Bring This Delicious and Healthy Giveaway To Their Fabulous Readers! I Cannot Do It Without You & Good Luck To All!
ION-BANNER-LOGO1

2 Lucky Winners will Receive 3 Paleo Breakfasts and 5 Paleo Entrees from IONutritions! $90 ARV Each Prize for a Total ARV of $180!

And Now The Giveaway!!!

Giveaway Dates ~ 2/04 9PM EST until 02/18 11:59PM EST
Entrants must be 18 years old to enter and giveaway is open to US residents only.
Any Questions Email Me At mcushing7 (at) hotmail (dot) com.
This giveaway is in no way endorsed, affiliated or associated with Facebook,
Twitter or any other Social Media Networking Site. This giveaway is valid only
in the United States. Entrants must be 18+ years of age to enter.
This giveaway will end at 11:59PM (EST) on 02/18/2016.

Good Luck! Enter Below

Also we all “love it if you like us” on Facebook!

By Supporting Our Blogs Via Social Media & Through The Process Of "Following" You Are Helping Us To Provide Fabulous Prizes For Amazing Future Giveaways! Good Luck & Thank You!

Ravaged River by Lindsay Cross Release Tour!

Scandal at Vauxhall by Layna Pimentel Series: Pleasure Garden Follies, Book One Spotlight! @SizzlingPR

ScandalatVauxhall Tour

Scandal at Vauxhall by Layna Pimentel

Series: Pleasure Garden Follies, Book One

Release Date: February 1, 2016

Publisher: Liquid Silver Books

Tour Dates: February 1 – 5, 2016

HRscandalatvauxhall


The love and happiness Isabel Salisbury expected in life when she accepted the proposal of the Marquess of Stoughton takes an unexpected turn, when he leaves on a mission for the war office. She is married off to the Duke of Brimley. Nathaniel Thompson, the Marquess of Stoughton, is devastated to learn upon his return that Isabel has married the duke. When news of her husband’s death surfaces, Nathaniel sets out to make amends and will stop at nothing until she’s his marchioness. But when London learns of a promiscuous tryst between them in the Daily, their credibility is at stake. They soon discover that nothing in life is simple, nor private, and all is fair in love and war.

Excerpt:

London, England, 1815 Prologue Isabel Salisbury hopped up from her seat and faced her mother. “Elevating me? Are you mad? This arrangement only benefits you and Father! What is the rush? Surely, your situation can wait until Nathaniel returns?” She lifted her chin high, attempting to remain controlled, but lost all civility. “Furthermore, I will not accept a proposal of any sort from any duke or such until I have spoken with Nathaniel!” I could never love another. How can they do this to me? Interrupting the hostility, the ancient pendulum clock hanging behind her father struck eight bells, reminding her where she needed to be. Without asking for permission, she dashed from the room, wiping her eyes and not looking back. Her conniving parents thought that this—that they—would be over. Not if I can help it. She had to get answers and soon. The last thing she desired was to be pawned off to a duke who had no interest in her. Isabel had heard in great detail of the Duke of Brimley’s conquests—from the infamous courtesans Madame Martine boasted of, to a mysterious affair with some Italian beauty, who was never seen, over a year ago. 

All of this and so much more had been revealed at Miss Turner’s garden tea party just a week prior. While Cecily, Madeline, and several other ladies of the haute ton thought the rumors to be utterly scandalous, that didn’t stop them from letting their imagination run wild. Miss Turner went on to compare Brimley to the men written about in those French novels that her mother kept hidden. What more could I ask for? Not only will I marry well, but I’m bound to be miserable with a man who thrives on living a life scandalously and shadowed by infidelity. I would much rather perish from consumption. 

 Hidden in the shadows of her parents’ maze of roses, Isabel raced against time. There she would meet Nathaniel, in what could be their last moments together for months. Despair over not seeing her beloved until he returned from the war office shook her to her core, tripping and stumbling her along the way. Her hopes and desires had been crushed. Emptiness swallowed her heart whole. What if he never returns? How could he not tell me? She loved him dearly, yet anger simmered beneath the surface and insecurity washed over her. “There you are, sweetling. I was beginning to think you weren’t coming.” Isabel threw herself at him, desperately hoping her parents were wrong. “You’re leaving me?” she murmured into his overcoat. Please let it be a falsehood. “Darling, let me explain, but first I have to ask you something.” Her eyes widened with disbelief. She sniffled and stepped out of his hold, gazing into his beautiful and stoic blue eyes. “I wanted to do this sooner, but...would you do me the honor of becoming my wife? I know that we cannot be married until I return. Nevertheless...” Isabel smiled, tears rolling down her cheeks. She almost shrieked with glee, but given their clandestine meeting, her joy had to be contained. Please, please, please, don’t anyone find us right now. “I accept,” she blurted before wrapping her arms around his neck and pressing her lips to his. She allowed herself to languish in the slow tease of his tongue. “Outstanding, sweetling. I’ll meet with your father in the morning, and we’ll begin the arrangements when I return in six months.” “Nathaniel, that is too long! Are you sure you cannot return any sooner?” She found herself enveloped firmly in his embrace, finally content, when he replied. “My dear, it could very well take longer. I assure you, I will do my utmost best to return to you in time.” Isabel beamed against his chest. “Very well, my darling. I cannot wait to share the news with Mother!” Maybe now they’ll see how worthy you are. Now there shouldn’t be any reason why I must meet that wicked duke.

About the Author

L05
Born and raised in Toronto, Ontario, Layna discovered her love of reading at an early age. She’s a bestselling author at All Romance eBooks, and multi-published author of historical, paranormal and contemporary erotic romances. When she isn’t devouring salacious romance novels or writing, she enjoys losing herself in researching ancient history and mythology, weaponry, and hiking. She lives in Northern Ontario, with her husband and two daughters. For updates on her upcoming releases, or to leave her a comment, you can find at:


Sexual Confessional by Nicole DelaCroix Book Blast! @NicoleDelaCroix #ConfessBlast


Everyone wants to peek under the covers, be a fly on the bedroom wall, or read someone’s diary...

Genre: Non-Fiction/Humor/Adult
Publication Date: November 13, 2015

Discovering secrets is titillating.

Everyone wants to peek under the covers, be a fly on the bedroom wall, or read someone’s diary. The juicier the secret, the more people want to know it, and sex is the most taboo of all subjects.

It’s human nature to be curious about what everyone else is doing. What do people like about sex? What are their fantasies? How far are they willing to go to please the one they love? These questions and more are explored, where everyday people offer up their most intimate secrets about sex.

One part social experiment – one part personal journey mixed with a little shock value, a whole lot of confession, laugh-out-loud comedy, deceptively thought-provoking questions and answers, all in the name of self-awareness. A foray into the inappropriate Sexual Confessional is a brash, unfiltered look at sex in the new millennium as seen by social media. A cautionary tale that warns “be careful what you ask the internet for, you may just get it…”


Raised with a deep love for words and literature. With a strong will and precocious nature, she is the atypical Texan Southern belle, preferring the fantastical, science and reason.

A blogger and author, she is consistently sought out to provide guest blogs and receives many requests to review from fellow authors. She believes life is about possibilities, which challenges her to write outside her comfort zone, trying new projects and meeting new people. 

Fiercely loyal to friends, family and pets, she is a proud member of the Atlanta Writer’s Club, avid Tweeter, and closet Anglophile with addictions to British Tea, Doctor Who and Soccer. Above all, she maintains sarcasm is a legitimate art form and strives to challenge conventional thinking.


Tease Me Thursday! @SizzlingPr

Tease Me Thursday


New bannerCat Johnson's Hot SEALs Kindle World

Follow these authors on Twitter!

My SEAL Bodyguard by Paige Tyler - @PaigeTyler
Revealing Love by Maryann Jordan - @authorMAJordan
SEALed in Texas by Marissa Dobson - @MarissaMDobson
A Daye with a SEAL by Donna Michaels - @Donna_Michaels
SEALed for Life by Donna McDonald - @donnamcdonald13
Tempted by a SEAL by Cat Johnson - @cat_johnson
Herding Cat by Sabrina York - @sabrina_york
Darwin’s Evolution by Siobhan Muir - @SiobhanMuir
Claimed by a SEAL by KaLyn Cooper - @KaLynCooperbook
Surrender to a SEAL by Normandie Alleman - @NormandieA

You can order all of these books at this link at Amazon~~ http://amzn.to/23EBBAQ

My SEAL Bodyguard TeaserMy SEAL Bodyguard by Paige Tyler

MaryannJordanRevealing Love by Maryann Jordan

danger and comfort

SEALed in Texas by Marissa Dobson

A Daye with a SEALA Daye with a SEAL by Donna Michaels

SEALed for Life by Donna McDonald

SEALs7 QuoteTempted by a SEAL by Cat Johnson

Amazon: US - CA - UK

Herding CatHerding Cat by Sabrina York

Good for You MemesmlDarwin's Evolution by Siobhan Muir

KaLyn CooperClaimed by a SEAL by KaLyn Cooper

NormandieSurrender to a SEAL by Normandie Alleman

03 February, 2016

Banished by Kimberley Griffiths Little Book Blitz with Giveaway!


Banished
Kimberley Griffiths Little
(Forbidden #2)
Published by: HarperCollins
Publication date: February 2nd 2016
Genres: Historical, Romance, Young Adult
She thought she’d lost everything . . .
After spending months traveling the harsh, unforgiving Mesopotamian desert, Jayden reunites with a broken, injured Kadesh. Although everyone was convinced the violent and unpredictable Horeb, Jayden’s betrothed, killed the handsome prince, Jayden knew in her heart that her love was alive and safe. But their reunion is short-lived, as they learn Horeb is on their trail and determined to take back the girl he has claimed. Soon, the two star-crossed lovers are on the run toward Sariba, Kadesh’s homeland, where, as heir to the Kingdom, he plans to make Jayden his princess.
But the trek to Sariba is fraught with heartache and danger. After narrowly escaping being stoned to death for a crime she didn’t commit, and learning that her sister has disappeared, Jayden’s only solace is her love for Kadesh. But even he is keeping secrets from her . . . secrets that will change everything.
This gorgeous and enchanting sequel to Forbidden, is full of love, danger, and heated passion that will leave readers breathless.
Sequel to:
18889290
Booklist Review:
“This sequel to Forbidden (2014) picks up with desert girl Jayden, distraught that the young man she loves, Kadesh, might have died. But, of course, he hasn’t. Scarred and missing an eye, yes, but he’s escaped the clutches of Horeb, Jayden’s malicious betrothed. Traveling bravely through the desert, Jayden finds him. But that perilous trip is only the first of the dangers to come. Gathering an army, Kadesh is determined to return to his faraway home, where the valuable frankincense grows, and introduce Jayden as his future bride. First, however, they must face betrayal, danger, and a waiting evil. Jayden achieves almost superhero status here, moving from adventure to adventure—not even a near-death stoning can stop her. Little’s descriptions of the landscape are evocative in both desolation and in beauty. Just as good is her pacing, which gets the blood pumping for both characters and readers. Far more than a bridge book, this will heighten anticipation for a no-doubt exciting conclusion.
drastically-changed2

EXCERPT:

A dirty, callused hand slapped down over my mouth and the stale breath of a man hissed in my ear. “Don’t move or I’ll slit your pretty, little neck.”
I clawed at the stranger’s cloak, trying to push him off, but he was too heavy. A moment later, I realized my ankles were tied together. I couldn’t run, couldn’t even move. Shrieks gurgled in my throat as if I was drowning, his hand cutting off my air.
Only one day into my journey to find Kadesh and I was already dead.
The sharp tip of a blade pressed against my neck, and I whimpered.
“Give me the frankincense of the stranger we killed.” The man’s foul breath dragged across my face. He was referring to Kadesh, the boy I loved, who’d been murdered by Horeb, the prince of my tribe.
With myself as a witness, I’d watched Horeb plunge his sword into Kadesh and then order his soldiers to drag his body off.
Shock flooded me when I realized who my attacker was. I wrenched his fingers away from my mouth and with a raw voice, said, “Gad? What are you doing lurking about the cliffs of Mari?”
This man was a childhood friend of Horeb’s and one of my own tribesmen. His body pressed against mine, and I writhed in disgust.
There was only one reason Gad was in the foothills of Mari, far from the oasis of Tadmur where my tribe camped for the summer. He was a member of Horeb’s army.
Horeb, my betrothed. The man who’d attacked and scarred me. Blackmailed me for the murder of his father to hide the fact that he’d killed his own father so he could steal the tribal crown.
Forbidden Quote Without a torch(1)


Author Bio:
When I was a kid I read a book a day, scribbled stories, and dreamed about having my very own book on the library shelf. I grew up in San Francisco, but now live in an adobe house on the banks of the Rio Grande with my husband and sons. I think I've drunk so much Land of Enchantment water that some of that ancient magic got into my blood and now spurts out my pencil--I mean ergonomic keyboard. I adore anything old and musty with a secret story to tell.
I'm the author of 10 award-winning middle-grade and Young Adult novels with Scholastic and Harpercollins and I make way too many cookies when I'm writing - and I've got the best book trailers in the universe - for reals! Check them out here: www.kimberleygriffithslittle.com. Please find me on Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, and Youtube.
Awards: Southwest Book Award, Whitney Award for Best Youth Novel, Whitney Award Finalist and Association of Mormon Letters of Art Award, Bank Street College Best Books of 2011, 2013, and 2015, a Crystal Kite Finalist, and New Mexico Book Award Finalist.

Hosted by:
XBT250

Set Aside by Kelly Collins Promo Blast!

02 February, 2016

Aurora's Song by Cherime FacFarlane Book Release Tour!

Worst Week Ever by Liza O'Connor Book Tour!

Welcome to the Cover Reveal for Fear of Falling By Catherine Lanigan!



On Tour with Prism Book Tours.

Welcome to the Cover Reveal for
Fear of Falling
By Catherine Lanigan
Coming March 1, 2016, from Harlequin Heartwarming...



Adult Contemporary Romance
Paperback & ebook, 368 Pages

Her best bet is to stay away

Was Olivia hearing this right? The one man in Indian Lake she'd found truly intriguing since, well, forever—the hopelessly handsome heir to the region's most successful farming operation, Rafe Barzonni—was involved in horse racing? That made him, and her sudden attraction, downright dangerous. He wasn't just out of her league. He was a gambler. Like her father. With the shame of her father's racetrack betting addiction still haunting her, Olivia can't be part of that world. Rafe's world. She can't trust him, or his magnetism. But there's something deep in his incredible blue eyes that keeps drawing her closer…


The Other Books in the Series

   

Catherine Lanigan is the bestselling author of over thirty published titles in both fiction and non-fiction, including the novelizations of Romancing the Stone and The Jewel of the Nile, as well as over half a dozen anthologies, including “Chicken Soup for the Soul: Living your Dream”, “Chicken Soup for the Writer’s Soul”, “Chocolate for a Woman’s Heart”, Chocolate for a Woman’s Spirit”. Ms. Lanigan’s novels have been translated into over a dozen languages including German, French, Italian, Spanish, Russian, Portuguese, Chinese, and Japanese. Ms. Lanigan’s novels are also available on audio-cassette, CD and on electronic format. A prolific writer, she is always writing wonderful stories. She has several titles only available in ebook format on Amazon.com Several of her titles have been chosen for The Literary Guild and Doubleday Book Clubs. Her novel, The Christmas Star, won the Gold Medal Award Top Pick from Romantic Times Magazine for December, 2002, and has also won Book of the Year Romance Gold Award from ForeWord Magazine as well as Book of the Year Romance from Reader’s Preference. In March, 2006 Divine Nudges: Tales of Angelic Intervention and the second in Lanigan’s Angel Watch series of books, was published by HCI, the Chicken Soup for the Soul publisher.



Want to join the upcoming tour? Click on the banner to go to the sign-up!

Cover Reveal Giveaway

$25 Amazon eGift Card
3 ebooks of Fear of Falling
Open internationally
Ends February 7th

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Grab Our Button!

Celticlady's News

Walmart

rollback04_gen_120X90.gif

Linkvehicle

Join the Coffee Club!

Coffee.club

Glasses Spot

GlassesSpot.com

Reverse your Diabetes

Reverse your Diabetes in as little as 2 weeks!

VigLink

First Words

First Words

Page Rank Checker

Pagerankchecker.com — Check your Pagerank

Influenster!

First to Read

First To Read

Please Share!

I belong to Book Vetter

Pin It!

Printfriendly

Google+ Badge

Skimlinks 1

I Review For!

Pump Up Your Book

Book Reviewers Yellow Pages

Book Depository

I am a Word Slinger Reviewer!

Book Reviewer Sign Up

Atria Newsroom

Book Blogger List

Smiley360

Join Smiley360

BookPal

70% off Bargain Books!

Brand Backer

Mom's Affiliate

Literrater

Whatsblog

Skimlinks 1


Social Media Management by Symphony

View My Stats!

View My Stats

Pageviews past week

SNIPPET_HTML_V2.TXT

Feedburner

Booklovers Heaven

BlogsMonitor.Com

Books blog

Picket Fence

Google Page Rank