CELTICLADY'S REVIEWS   

Sunday, July 27, 2014

Second on the Right by Elizabeth Los Book Tour Grand Finale Blitz!


Second on the Right by Elizabeth Los
A themed book tour through Prism Book Tours.

It's the Grand Finale for
Second on the Right
by Elizabeth Los

Did you miss visiting Captain Hook's storybook world? There's still time to go check it out!

14  - Launch - More about Second on the Right and Elizabeth Los
What do you hope readers will take with them when they read your book? 
I hope readers will be able to sit back and enjoy the ride. I love books that take me on a journey full of twists and turns. If a reader gleans a message from the story, great! But otherwise, I just want it to be fun. I hope they find themselves liking Hook as I always have.

15 - Kelly P's Blog - Interview
Who is your favorite character in your book and why?
James is my favorite character in Second on the Right and also the inspiration/reason why I wrote Second on the Right in the first place. I always felt there was more to Hook’s story than just what we find in Barrie’s version. What motivated him and pushed him to seek revenge on Peter Pan? Was it really just the loss of his right hand or was there more to it than that?

Coffee Books & Art - The Inspiration for Second on the Right
As for the title, Second on the Right, this is a nod to the original J.M. Barrie text. Most known the phrase as second star to the right, but in Barrie’s Peter Pan, it was actually "second to the right, and straight on till morning". I wouldn’t have had the opportunity to write about Captain Hook if Barrie hadn’t written the story in the first place. So I felt it was only fitting to give a nod, multiple times in the novel in fact, to him and the original work.

Dividing by Zero - The Legend of Captain Hook
Said to be the only man Long John Silver feared, even the name “James Hook” is an alias. No one knows the true identity of the captain or where he came from. The man known as Captain James Hook has a cadaverous appearance, his pale face appearing as a spectral in the dark...

Musings of Immortals - Character Description of Captain Hook

16 - Sarah's StoryLines - Excerpt
Eileen woke with a start. Carefully, she peeled back the privacy sheet. A lump caught in her throat. The cabin door was open. She frowned. In the dim moonlight, a shadow stood just within the captain’s quarters. It moved. Her heart raced. She blinked, then stared. The dark silhouette glided silently. She watched, unbelieving. The shape loomed over the captain. She released the sheet.

17 - Mary Terrani.com - Character Description for Eileen
Eileen

18 - The Wonderings Of One Person - The Mistral Thief
Captain Benedict’s ship is what is typically depicted of pirate vessels, a galleon ship... 
How does it compare with Captain Hook’s Jolly Roger?

Christy's Cozy Corners - Captain Hook's Crew of the Jolly Roger
Captain James Hook had a rather unique and, for the most part, loyal crew. The crew of the Jolly Roger was a lot of villainous pirates. But though they were a rough bunch and at times fear their captain’s temper, they were like family to James. Two specific men stand out among the group: Smee and Starkey...
"I had a hard time keeping my self interested in what was going on. But I am very glad I did. About half way through the story becomes so much better. It moves along quicker and keeps your attention until the end."

22 - My Devotional Thoughts - Buried Treasure and A Treasure You Can Search For
In the 1600s, a galleon ship, Nuestra Senora de Atocha, was caught in a hurricane off the coast of Key West. Supposedly, this one held an enormous cargo of gold, silver and gems. The original captain’s manifest claimed coins of different values, emeralds, boxes of gold and silver bars.

23 - Bookworm Lisa - How to Make Your Own Treasure Map
1) Think about what you want on the map. Lucky for James Benedict, his photographic memory came in handy when it came time to recall the directions to the island called Neverland...

24 - The Written Adventure - Real Life Paratey Adventure (Geocaching)
Geocaching is defined as the recreational activity of hunting for and finding a hidden object by means of GPS coordinates posted on a website, i.e. modern day treasure hunting. Honestly, the definition doesn’t begin to describe the fun and excitement involved.

25 - Dalene's Book Reviews - Review
"I enjoyed reading this book, the author took on Peter Pan and does a good job with this rewrite of a classic story. The characters are well developed and written."

Beck's Valley Books - Interview
Is there anything you don't like about being an author?
Talking about myself ;) That’s not to say I don’t enjoy discussing Second on the Right and the characters in the story. I welcome any questions, comments or discussion involving my novel. But questions about myself? Ugh.

Second on the RightSecond on the Right
by Elizabeth Los
Adult Fantasy
Paperback, 506 Pages
May 9 2014

Spawned from an ancient promise, treachery and intrigue follow the protagonists through our world and one lost to the waves. Bound by an invisible bond, they are thrust into a fantastical world of pirates and demons.

James Benedict is a just man haunted by evil. Pushed to the edge, everything stripped from him, a new man arises . . . a man whose name strikes fear into the hearts of all who hear it: "Captain Hook".

Eileen Davis was a timid woman. Through a fateful cruise she finds herself in the company of the Captain of the Mistral Thief. With his guidance, and the meddling of the local barista, she eventually finds her inner strength.

Will the two of them unite through time to fulfill the promise of their ancestors or will tempers ignite leading all to failure?

True love's magic is not to avoid changes,
But to navigate them successfully.
ELosBnW
About Elizabeth Los

I began writing fan fiction short stories in 2010 as means of escape. Every night, after ten hours of work and once the children were finally tucked in bed, for the fifth time, I would sit at my laptop and let my imagination flow through my fingers. Typing over eighty words per minute, my stories quickly began to form from novellas into full length novels. I used writing as my therapy, my release for stress.


Tour-Wide Giveaway

- $20 Amazon gift card and an ebook of Second on the Right (INT)
- Signed print copy of Second on the Right (US Only)
- Ends August 3rd

Prism Book Tours

Paw Prints In My Heart by Andrew Hessel Review!

Book Details

  • Paperback: 212 pages
  • Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (May 13, 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1497595495
  • ISBN-13: 978-1497595491

About the Book
Here’s to great dogs. Many of us would like to believe there’s a special place in doggie heaven for the really great ones. I know I want to. No question they’ve earned it, deserve it, and it seems only fair. I know there are a great many great dogs out there, working their magic, living their lives with their families and saying it all without ever saying a word. For dog lovers, our precious memories of those “non-conversations” with dearly-departed four-legged friends lend silence a deafening quality. I explained to a friend that Paw Prints is a book about great dogs, not just my dog, although Mac was truly some great dog. And as I’ve said many times, he was certainly the dog of my life, and his friendship enriched and changed not just my life, but the lives of everyone in our family. While the book is my attempt to capture Mac’s remarkably and improbably wonderful story before it fades to past, it’s also in many ways my story, too. Because Mackie and I were happily and deliriously, joined-at-the-paw. Amazing, I think, that I could learn so much from a guy that never said a word. Paw Prints in My Heart is Mac’s story. I think of it as my gift to our family and all of his friends, two and four-legged, that had the pleasure and the privilege of knowing and being loved by this magnificent old Labrador retriever. It’s my best attempt to capture and chronicle a remarkable life, the pain and sadness of his passing, but most of all, his joyful impact upon us over what truly was a most improbable life of fourteen years and a day. A reverent and grateful tribute to a gentle and pure spirit that for me will always be a living reminder of a loving friend in the very truest sense. In every way, for me this book was a labor of love and joy to write. Parts will make you laugh, and others may bring you to tears, so a tissue at times may be advised. But I have the highest hopes that you’ll read it, enjoy it, and connect in ways that only you can understand. Maybe even share it with friends that might understand and pass it along, as a comfort for a true friend they’ve lost, and for what they’ve experienced, and a way for them to remember the laughter and happy times through their tears. I hope that dog lovers everywhere read this book and see a bit of their dog in Mac. I hope that the non-dog lovers amongst us read this book and reconsider. I hope that everyone has at least one dog of their life in their life. My first novel Rush to Dawn, was, in many ways a love letter to my wife, Lynne. This book, I’d like to believe, is a love letter from Mac to all of us.

The Review
Reading a book like “Paw Prints in My Heart” is always a tough choice to make.  Being non-fiction, it’s almost guaranteed to be a tear-jerker.  We all know that most humans will outlive their animals, it’s a simple fact of life.  Heart-breaking, but true.  

That being said, this book is more than just a couple hundred pages of paper.  It is a story that will truly warm your heart, make you laugh, drive you a little bit nuts (especially if you’ve ever had a pet that is so obstinate, yet so loveable), and it will make you cry.  

Author Andrew Hessel, being a writer at heart, tells the story of the “dog of his life” in such a way that draws the reader in, giving the feeling that we know Mac, a gloriously large and incessantly stubborn, yet totally endearing, black lab.  The retriever that wouldn’t retrieve…or swim.  Or ride in a car.  The kind of dog that turns even the most adamantly anti-dog people into dog lovers.  I’ve known a few of these people in my time (how anyone can not love dogs is just beyond me), and I’ve also known a few dogs of Mac’s caliber in my day.  

Almost from day one, Mac had to fight for his life.  With all the medical issues he faced (and all the hits to the Hessel family checkbook), he led a truly blessed life.  But as Hessel put it, Mac was more than just a pet, he was a friend.  A friend that Hessel went to extreme measures for, measures that most people would not (or could not) have done.  This country is blessed to have doctors of veterinary medicine of the caliber that the Hessel family encountered.  Especially their primary vet, many people in the medical field went above and beyond to care for Mac.  It is amazing to see the love and tender care given to animals.  Such a beautiful juxtaposition to what we see in the news most often.

As Hessel states, there are over 43 million households that have dogs in them in this country.  Mac is but one, though he was clearly a special one.  Even if you don’t have a dog, don’t want a dog, maybe you don’t even especially care for dogs much, give this book a shot.  It will restore your faith in humanity, if only for a few hours.  

Everybody needs a friend, companion, “dog of their life” and Hessel was blessed to have had that.  Sad as it is when it’s over, but what a beautiful 14 years and one day.  


A copy of the book was provided by the author and there was no monetary compensation.  

Friday, July 25, 2014

A Life of Death by Weston Kincade Spotlight!



A Life of Death, Book One:
Alex Drummond is a troubled high school senior with a checkered past, a broken home, and a surprising ability. When he touches items that murder victims held in their final moments, Alex relives the events in gruesome detail, seeing what they saw, thinking their thoughts, and even feeling what they felt. But who will believe a troubled teen, especially when the murders are so close to home and might reveal skeletons hidden for hundreds of years?

Join Alex as he struggles to find his destiny, understand love, solve the mysterious murders within his small home town, and speak for victims who can no longer speak for themselves.

Official Author Bio:
Weston Kincade is the author and editor of the science-fiction/dark fantasy series Altered Realities, the paranormal coming-of-age mystery A Life of Death, and co-author and editor of Strange Circumstances, a short story anthology about twists of fate. Some of Mr. Kincade's short stories, including "Prison Torment" and "House Al-Amin," have been featured in separate short story anthologies by Thadd Presley Presents. Weston is currently working on the sequels in his series and a few new books. To find out more about Mr. Kincade and his work, visit http://www.kincadefiction.blogspot.com.

Book Links:

Author Links:
Twitter - @WestonKincade

Thursday, July 24, 2014

The Queen's Exiles by Barbara Kyle Review!



Publication Date: May 27, 2014
Kensington Publishing
Formats: Ebook, Paperback

Add to GR Button

 Europe is in turmoil. A vengeful faction of exiled English Catholics is plotting to overthrow Queen Elizabeth and install her cousin Mary, Queen of Scots on the throne. And in the Netherlands the streets are red with the blood of those who dare to oppose the brutal Spanish occupation. But amid the unrest, one resourceful young woman has made a lucrative enterprise. Scottish-born Fenella Doorn salvages crippled vessels. It is on one of these ships that she meets wealthy Baron Adam Thornleigh. Secretly drawn to him, Fenella can’t refuse when Adam enlists her to join him in war-torn Brussels to help find his traitorous wife, Frances—and the children she’s taken from him. But Adam and Fenella will put their lives in peril as they attempt to rescue his young ones, defend the Crown, and restore a peace that few can remember. With eloquent and enthralling finesse, Barbara Kyle illuminates one of history’s grimmest chapters. The Queen’s Exiles breathes new life into an extraordinary age when love and freedom could only be won with unmitigated courage.

Praise for The Queen’s Exiles

“Riveting Tudor drama in the bestselling vein of Philippa Gregory” – USA Today
“A bold and original take on the Tudors that dares to be different. Enjoy the adventure!” – Susanna Kearsley, New York Times bestselling author
“This moving adventure pulses with Shakespearean passions: love and heartbreak, risk and valour, and loyalties challenged in a savage time. Fenella Doorn, savvy and brave, is an unforgettable heroine.” – Antoni Cimolino, Artistic Director of the Stratford Festival
“Brilliant. A page-turner of love and loyalty in treacherous Tudor times. A truly unforgettable adventure.” – Deborah Swift, author of A Divided Inheritance
“A vivid and compelling novel by an author at the very top of her craft.” – Diane Haeger, author of I, Jane

Praise for Barbara Kyle’s Books

“Kyle knows what historical fiction readers crave.” – RT Book Reviews on Blood Between Queens
“A complex and fast-paced plot mixing history with vibrant characters” – Publishers Weekly on The King’s Daughter
“An all-action thriller, bringing to life the passion and perils of the Tudor period.” – Lancashire Evening Post on The King’s Daughter
“Riveting…adventurous…superb!” – The Historical Novels Review on The Queen’s Gamble
“An exciting tale of the intrigue and political manoeuvring in the Tudor court.” – Booklist on The Queen’s Captive
“Boldly strides into Philippa Gregory territory…sweeping, gritty and realistic.” – The Historical Novels Review on The Queen’s Lady

Buy the Book

About the Author

Barbara Kyle is the author of the acclaimed, internationally-published Thornleigh Saga novels which follow a middle-class English family’s rise through three tumultuous Tudor reigns:
The Queen’s Exiles
Blood Between Queens
The Queen’s Gamble
The Queen’s Captive
The King’s Daughter
The Queen’s Lady
Barbara was a speaker in 2013 at the world-renowned Stratford Festival with her talk Elizabeth and Mary, Rival Queens and is known for her dynamic workshops for many writers’ organizations and conferences. Before becoming an author Barbara enjoyed a twenty-year acting career in television, film, and stage productions in Canada and the U.S.
For more information visit www.barbarakyle.com. You can also connect with Barbara at FacebookTwitter, and Goodreads.

Tour Hashtag: #QueensExilesTour



My Thoughts 
The Queen's Exiles refer to Adam Thornleigh and Fenella Doorn during Queen Elizabeth's reign. Adam is estranged from his wife Frances and she has taken their two children and hidden them from Adam with the Duke of Alba, a man who is slaughtering the Dutch people for the King of Spain . Fenella is a widow who has her own business on the island of Sark, off the coast of France, salvaging sea going vessels. Adam and Fenella met years previously in an earlier novel in the Thorleigh saga. They meet again when Adam's ship comes into the port of Sark needing repairs. Surprising events have thrown these two people together again in a fun reading experience.

In this novel, Spain has taken over the Netherlands and there are plots afoot to try to put Queen Mary back on England's throne, while Adam tries to get his children away from his wife, Fenella becomes his accomplice in this harrowing continuation of an awesome series. There are some returning characters  Adam’s sister, Isabel and her husband Carlos Valverde plus some new ones including the Sea Beggars and the Brethren, people who are fighting against Spain and its cruelty's against the Dutch people. 

I have only read about three of the novels in this series but that did not deter me from enjoying this historical fiction story that encompasses my favorite time in Tudor history. I would recommend starting the series from book one but it is not really necessary although it would help to keep the many characters  and story-lines straight. This is a story of treason, political machinations, loyalty and finally love. I look forward to the continuing Thornleigh saga, I highly recommend this series if you are a fan of historical fiction by an accomplished author.

Virtual Book Tour Schedule

Monday, June 16Review & Giveaway at Peeking Between the Pages
Tuesday, June 17Excerpt & Giveaway at The Maiden’s Court
Wednesday, June 18Review at The True Book Addict
Friday, June 20Spotlight & Giveaway at Passages to the Past
Monday, June 23Review & Giveaway at Flashlight Commentary
Tuesday, June 24Review at Oh, for the Hook of a Book
Wednesday, June 25Review & Giveaway at Let Them Read Books
Thursday, June 26Guest Post at Oh, for the Hook of a Book
Monday, June 30Review at HF Book Muse-News
Wednesday, July 2Guest Post & Giveaway at HF Book Muse-News
Monday, July 7Review at Ageless Pages Reviews
Wednesday, July 9Review at Historical Tapestry
Thursday, July 10Guest Post & Giveaway at HF Connection
Friday, July 11Review at Dianne Ascroft Blog
Monday, July 14Review & Giveaway at Broken Teepee
Wednesday, July 16Review & Giveaway at Luxury Reading
Thursday, July 17Review at Griperang’s Bookmarks
Friday, July 18Interview at Griperang’s Bookmarks
Monday, July 21Review at Always with a Book
Wednesday, July 23Guest Post & Giveaway at Always with a Book
Thursday, July 24Review at CelticLady’s Reviews
Friday, July 25Review at Sharon’s Garden of Book Reviews
Monday, July 28Review at A Bookish Affair
Wednesday, July 30Guest Post & Giveaway at A Bookish Affair
Thursday, July 31Interview at Passages to the Past

The Brothers' Keepers by Matthew Peters Spotlight and Excerpt!



Most of us are familiar with Jesus’ parents, Mary and Joseph, and Jesus’ purported spouse, Mary Magdalene. But what about Jesus’ siblings? What role did they play in early Christianity?
Contemporary Jesuit and renowned religious historian Nicholas Branson is about to find out…and the answer will shake the foundations of the Judeo-Christian world.
It all starts with the murder of a United States Senator in a confessional, and the discovery of a strange religious document among his possessions. At the urging of his FBI friend, Branson joins the investigation. His effort to uncover the truth behind the murder draws him into the search for an eight-hundred-year-old treasure and into a web of ecclesiastical and political intrigue.
Accompanied by a beautiful, sharp-tongued research librarian, Jessica Jones, Branson follows a trail of clues, from the peaks of the awe inspiring French Pyrenees to the caves of war-torn Afghanistan. Along the way, shadowy powerful forces trail the pair, determined to keep safe a secret buried for centuries.
MuseItUp Publishing (October 1, 2014)
The book can be purchased at https://museituppublishing.com/bookstore/index.php/coming-soon/the-brothers-keepers-detail

Excerpt
The man lit another cigar. “As hard as I try not to smoke these things, I just can’t seem to help myself. The treasure must have something to do with the Roman Catholic Church’s claim as God’s sole representative on earth. Nothing else makes sense. So, it has to be something that threatens their claim to such authority, and taking into account the involvement of secular powers, I think whatever it is threatens Judeo-Christian civilization as a whole.”
“How could anything bring down the dominant civilization?” Branson had thought of this often since his session with Rawlings.
“Among the world’s religions, Christianity is uniquely susceptible to having its underpinnings knocked out. Judaism, Islam, and Buddhism all developed slowly, along the lines of indigenous cultures. Without Mohammed, Islam would still live, as would Buddhism without Gautama. Christianity rests on one thing, the resurrection of Jesus. If Jesus was not raised from the dead, Christianity becomes a mere set of moral maxims, at best a good way to live one’s life, perhaps even a precursor to secular humanism. But if Jesus died and was raised from the dead, then Christianity has what other faiths only promise, the guarantee of eternal life in paradise.” Albert puffed on his cigar until it glowed fiercely. “And so, Doctor, another question. Is there proof of Jesus’ resurrection?”
Branson was on familiar ground now. “The Gospels give us eyewitness accounts. Mary Magdalene sees Jesus in the garden near his tomb. His disciples see him again in the Upper Room and elsewhere.”
Albert knocked his cigar ashes into the fireplace and smiled. “Let me ask you this: which Gospel is the oldest?”
“Mark, written around 70 AD. The next oldest is Matthew, followed by Luke, and finally John.”
“How does Mark, the earliest of the Gospels, end?”
“I’m sorry?”
“Tell me how Mark ends his story.”
Jessica joined in. “Three women go to Jesus’ tomb and find it empty. They meet a young man dressed in white who tells them that Jesus is risen. Then, not long after, he appears to the apostles.”
“Does she have it right, Dr. Branson?”
“Well, she’s pretty close. The three women go to the tomb, find it empty, and are told by the white-robed stranger that Jesus has risen. But…”
“Yes?” Albert pressed.
“The fact is the original version of Mark’s Gospel ends there. The material about Jesus appearing to the apostles, his ascent into heaven, was added later. But in the original, Mark makes no mention of any appearance of the resurrected Jesus.”
“Is an empty tomb proof of resurrection?” Albert asked. “Is hearing about the resurrection from a stranger proof? A rather shaky foundation to build a world religion on, n’est-ce pas? What about the testimony of the Roman guards? Of course they agreed with the resurrection story. If they’d admitted to falling asleep, or leaving their posts, or getting drunk, they would have lost more than their jobs. Just an empty tomb does not a resurrection make.”
“No, but that doesn’t mean the resurrection and appearance to the apostles didn’t happen.” Branson sounded more defensive than he’d intended. He didn’t feel himself to be in a strong position to serve as apologist for the Church, not here and now.
Jessica cleared her throat. “So, let’s ask a different question. What would constitute proof that Jesus didn’t rise from the dead?”
Branson let the objective scholar within take over from the Catholic believer. Under the circumstances, he was certainly glad he had the ability to do so. “Well, off the top of my head, I’d say finding his bones.”
“Very good,” Albert said, puffing away on his cigar. “But is that really the case? Old bones in some ossuary. How would you prove they’re the bones of Jesus Christ? Highly unlikely. So proving Jesus died is probably not the threat.”
“Isn’t there anything else that might challenge the foundation of Christianity?” Jessica asked.
Branson thought for a moment. “I suppose something that brought into doubt the virgin birth or the crucifixion.”
“Very good, Dr. Branson,” Albert said in between puffs of his cigar.
“Also very unlikely,” Branson admitted. “How can you prove the virgin birth? It’s not like Mary went around town saying, ‘Look at me, I’m the Virgin Mary.’ That title was bestowed upon her by the Church hundreds of years after her death. Unless you could find the equivalent of a two thousand year old birth certificate, or a paternity test from Joseph you’d be hard pressed to disprove it. And even if we allow for the fact that Jesus had siblings, as he clearly did from what the Gospels tell us, there is nothing to say that he wasn’t the eldest, and thus Mary could still have been a virgin at his birth, while the other children were conceived by Joseph.”
“What of the crucifixion?” Albert said.
“How can that be proved?”
“Well, I suppose you could find the cross upon which Jesus was crucified, or the nails used to affix him to the cross, or the crown of thorns he wore. However, proving any of that is next to impossible. The Romans crucified thousands and there is no way to tell from the remnants of wood who was crucified on a particular cross, the nails that were used, or the crown that was worn.” Branson thought for a moment. “So what do you think the Cathar treasure is, and where is it?”
Albert blew smoke rings into the cabin’s stale air. “Those are exactly the questions we hope you can help us answer, Dr. Branson. Will you join us in our efforts?”  

  


Dual diagnosed* from an early age, Matthew Peters dropped out of high school at sixteen. He went on to obtain an A.A., a B.A. from Vassar College, and an M.A. and Ph.D. from Duke University. He has taught various courses in a variety of disciplines throughout North Carolina. He is committed to increasing the awareness and understanding of the dual-diagnosed. Conversations Among Ruins (forthcoming through All Things That Matter Press) is his first novel. His second novel, The Brothers’ Keepers (forthcoming through MuseItUp Publishing), is a political-religious thriller that capitalizes on his love for history and research. Currently, he is working on a sequel to The Brothers’ Keepers.
*The term dual diagnosed refers to someone suffering from a mood disorder (e.g., depression) and chemical dependency.
Please also feel free to stop by my website at www.matthewpetersbooks.com 

You can order the book here: https://museituppublishing.com/bookstore/index.php/coming-soon/the-brothers-keepers-detail


...and here

Barnes & Noble: http://bit.ly/1qNxMnO

Wednesday, July 23, 2014

BookGirlTV!!




 BookGirlTV informs, inspires readers with top quality new reads
Newest interviews with BEST-SELLING authors Linda Fairstein, Adam Braun


NEW YORK CITY – Tessa Smith McGovern finds the best new books to read for BookGirlTV so you don’t have to and takes you behind the scenes with today’s top authors.

With BookGirlTV, McGovern cuts through the advertising and hype to find what books you should be reading right now. She aims to save people time and money by only highlighting exceptional books that readers will want to finish and to provide readers with an interactive, entertaining and life-enhancing monthly video book club that fits anyone’s schedule. BookGirlTV also works to shine a light on under-recognized female writers, both emerging and best-selling, and can help new authors learn strategies and wisdom from successful authors.

The most recent edition of BookGirlTV’s author interview show, ‘Just Books with Tessa Smith McGovern’ features an interview with Linda Fairstein about her book “Terminal City,” which reveals the “dark side” of New York City’s Grand Central Station. McGovern’s upcoming interviews include Adam Braun, founder of Pencils of Promise and author of The Promise of a Pencil, and author and journalist Anna Quindlen.

BookGirlTV also produces a series called BookGirlBUZZes, 1-2 minute book reviews that tell you what a book’s about (don’t worry, no spoilers here!) and whether those 5 star Amazon ratings are accurate – think of it as the mobile version of your local bookstore clerk.

BookGirlTV airs Thursdays at 4 p.m. on YouTube and BookGirl.TV and after on Facebook, Twitter, BlipTV, Dailymotion, iTunes, Pinterest, LinkedIn, Tumblr, Reddit, Roku and all connected TVs(Frequency). The BookGirlBUZZ mobile app for Android and iOS allows people to stay up-to-date and watch BookGirlTV on their favorite mobile device. The email newsletter also keeps people in the know about new episodes of BookGirlTV and offers the chance to win free books, many of them signed.

About the BookGirl: Tessa Smith McGovern, originally from England, published her first short story in 1996 and has continued to publish work while also founding eChook Digital Publishing and hosting and producing BookGirl.TV. McGovern’s linked short story collection, “London Road: Linked Stories,” has earned high praise, including being the Gold Medal Winner in the 2012 eLit Awards. McGovern also teaches at The Writing Institute at Sarah Lawrence College, NY.

You can watch a video here:

Strangers on a Bus by Rob Manary Promo Blitz!


PROMO Blitz – Strangers on a Bus
Romantic Comedy / Memoir
Date Published: March 29, 2011

 photo add-to-goodreads-button_zpsc7b3c634.png

If you liked When Harry Met Sally, you'll fall in love with Robb and Gertrude from Strangers on a Bus...

Robb is crushed by a failed relationship with the love of his life and finds himself unexpectedly on a long bus trip from his adopted home in the U.S. back to his native Canada.

At the first stop in NYC, a girl gets on and so begins a contemplation of life, love, and strange events that will bring tears of laughter and heartache streaming down your face.

Is this girl Robb's real true love or just a rebound? How far can they get on a bus ride anyway?

This is a true story.

EXCERPT

Chapter 22
Things To Do in A Bus Stop Bathroom?

The sun started to come up as we crossed into Canada, and Gertrude told me we wouldn’t be making out once it was daylight. Lip dancing on a brightly lit bus was too “tacky” for her, and besides her lessons were having a not entirely unpleasant side effect on her.

I find it best to try not to understand women at all. But, there is one phenomenon that causes me more confusion than any of the other baffling behavior women indulge in.

When you tell a woman something and she doesn’t believe you, so you tell her the opposite, and she doesn’t believe that either, I like that.

So, you tell her the first thing you said was, indeed, the truth, and she doesn’t want to believe that one either.

Confused?

So am I. Here is the latest incarnation of this occurrence.
Gertrude: “All this kissing isn’t bothering you? You’ve got more restraint than any guy I’ve ever met. I thought you would have been trying to feel me up hours ago.”

Me: “Would it have worked?”

Gertrude: “Maybe, probably not. I think it’s nice. You’re a gentleman.”

Me: “Not really. Every time we stop I take care of that in the bathroom.”

Gertrude: “You’re such a pig! You washed your hands right! You’re so gross! You didn’t! Did you?”

Me: “I thought I was a gentleman! I lie! I lie! I lie! Of course I didn’t.”

Gertrude: “You’re such a pig! You did! Didn’t you? You’re so gross!”

Me: “Stop laughing at me if I’m so gross! I didn’t! I didn’t!”

Gertrude: “You did so! You’re such a pig!”

Me: “Okay. Fine. I did.”

Gertrude: “No you didn’t! You’re not that big a pig. Close. But no. You didn’t.”

Me: “I tell you I didn’t and you say I did. I tell you I did, and you say I didn’t. You’re such a weirdo.”

And then I kissed her, because the sun was rising quick, and because I couldn’t see another way to end that conversation. It is possible that debate could have gone on indefinitely, and there was no way I could prove conclusively what I had or had not done in a bus stop bathroom.

After what might be our last extended lip dancing lesson Gertrude whispered in my ear, “I was horny and wanted Dicky-bird…that is fun to say, so in the bathroom… I did.”

         
About the Author - Rob Manary

Robert Manary is an international playboy and man of mystery, with the charm and sophistication of James Bond shaken not stirred with a couple ounces of Cyrano de Bergerac, a dash of Rasputin, and garnished with the rapier wit of Thurston Howell the Third.

That's how he sees himself, anyway.

The truth is Robert Manary is a construct created to protect the dubious reputation of his Clark Kent like mild mannered writer/puppeteer/the man pulling the levers and breathing life into the Great and Powerful Oz (don't look too closely behind the curtain).

Robert Manary's alter ego dropped out of Radio Broadcasting College to pursue a lucrative career bartending at a seedy gentlemen's club, played around stocking shelves at a small grocery store until he screwed up badly enough to be given a promotion, and finally left the glamorous life of fighting with Parmalat representatives over the quantity of soy milk required for a small Northern Ontario town to function adequately, for the bright lights of New York.

Wow that was one long sentence!

Manary is also a master of the run-on sentence, an abuser of commas, and has no idea how to properly use this bit of punctuation: ";"

He also thinks he is much "cleverer" than he probably is.

Manary is an award winning blogger, an erotic romance novel writer, the author of a pretty decent romantic comedy, and for a brief period in the early nineties served as dictator of a small South American country.

Most of that is true.

New York, New York, if you can make it there you can make it anywhere. Manary couldn't make it there, and with only a little prompting from law enforcement agents returned to Canada, and chronicled the journey in that pretty decent romantic comedy mentioned in a paragraph above.

Manary is also an experimental artist who has no clue how to write an Author's Bio, and definitely no idea how to end one.


He has only been in love once, and that didn't work out so well, but he dreams and dreams of that girl he's loved all along.  Can a taste of love be so wrong?
P.S. He is also a shameless plunderer of pop culture.


Author Links



Buy Link



GIVEAWAY


 photo readingaddictionbutton_zps58fd99d6.png

Google+ Badge