CELTICLADY'S REVIEWS   

01 August, 2015

War of Rain by H.W.Vivian Spotlight



Today it is my pleasure to share with you a YA novel, War of Rain by H.W.Vivian, you can also enter for a chance to win a copy of the book at Goodreads here:

The Book

Fifteen-year-old Miri lives in a desert village called Boreala, which competes with the city of Stratos for Rain - the equivalent of Holy Water. During a confrontation while gathering Rain, Miri accidentally kills a citizen of Stratos and unintentionally starts a heinous war. Now it is up to her to find the God of Rain, Kalono, and ask Him for an invention that can bring both peace and war before Boreala is destroyed.




"War of Rain" is also on Goodreads via this link: 



Twitter: @vhwang7

Stop the Diet, I Want To Get Off! Release Day Blitz!!!



We're happy to be hosting Lisa Tillinger Johansen and her STOP THE DIET I WANT TO GET OFF RELEASE DAY BLITZ today!
About the Book:
Title: Stop the Diet, I Want To Get Off!
Author: Lisa Tillinger Johansen
Publisher: J. Murray Press
Pages: 275
Genre: Nonfiction/Nutrition/Health
Purchase at AMAZON

The Paleo.  The Zone.  The Gluten-free.  Another day, another diet.  We’re caught in a never-ending merry-go-round of weight loss plans, fueled by celebrity endorsers, TV doctors and companies angling for a piece of a $60 billion industry.  But do these diets really work?  And how healthy are they?

Registered Dietitian Lisa Tillinger Johansen examines dozens of the most wildly popular diets based on medical facts, not hype.  And along the way, she reveals tried-and-true weight loss strategies, relying on her years of hospital experience, weight-loss seminars and community outreach efforts.  With insight and humor, Stop The Diet, I Want To Get Off shows that the best answer is often not a trendy celebrity-endorsed diet, but easy-to-follow guidelines that are best for our health and our waistlines.
Book Excerpt:
The idea for this book began at a wedding.
Who doesn’t love a good wedding? The clothes, the flowers, the romance, the food…
Ah, the food. As we moved into the banquet hall, the culinary feast was on everyone’s minds. It was all anyone seemed talk about. But for some reason, guests weren’t conversing about the dishes being served; they were swapping stories of diets they had heard about from friends, magazine articles, even celebrities on talk shows.
I’m a registered dietitian with a master’s degree in nutritional science and years of clinical and health education experience. I’ve counseled thousands of patients and clients on all of these diets. But hearing the guests only momentarily distracted me from my horrible faux pas of wearing white (gasp!) to a friend’s wedding.
“I’m on the Blood Type Diet,” said a woman with an impossibly high bouffant hairdo. “You’ve heard of that, haven’t you? It’s the one where you choose your foods based on your blood type. I’m an AB, so I’ll be having the fish.”
“Really?” her friend replied. “I swear by the gluten-free diet. I’m on it, my daughter’s on it, and my granddaughter’s on it.”
I happened to know her granddaughter was six and didn’t have a gluten sensitivity or celiac disease.
Then there was the stocky guy who was trying to impress one of the bridesmaids. “I’m a paleo man myself,” he said, piling his plate high with beef kebabs. “It gives me more stamina, know what I mean? It puts me in touch with my inner caveman. There’s a restaurant near my apartment that’s paleo friendly. Maybe we can grab a bite there sometime, or…Hey wait, where are you going?”
And there were three Weight Watchers sisters who typed furiously on their phones and argued over their meals’ point values. Apparently there was some discrepancy between their various apps, and the sisters’ discussion was becoming more heated by the moment.
I’m past the point of being surprised by the wide range of weight-loss strategies—
some worthless, some crazy, some quite reasonable—being tossed around. In the past few years, there has been a tidal wave of diets washing up on the shores of our nutritional consciousness. Celebrities prance across our screens, promoting a variety of weight-loss schemes on talk shows and infomercials. Medical doctors star in their own syndicated television programs, exposing millions to weight-loss techniques, often unsupported by medical research. Other diets get traction on the Internet, racing all over the globe in social media posts, YouTube videos, and annoying spam e-mails. It’s hard to walk past a shopping center vitamin store without being approached by salespeople trying to pitch the latest weight-loss supplements. It seems that everyone wants a piece of the pie; the American diet industry tops $60 billion annually.
It’s classic information overload. You can’t blame people for being confused by all the diets out there, even as crazy as some of them may sound. I didn’t speak up to my fellow wedding guests that day, but it occurred to me they would benefit from some hard facts about the diets they so ardently follow.
So during the toasts, I thought to myself, I should write a book.
I counsel clients on these matters each week, giving them information they need to make the best choices for their health and waistlines. I find that all too often there’s nothing to the diets that are presented to me in my counseling sessions and classes. They just plain don’t work, particularly over the long term. And some of them are harmful, even potentially lethal. But it’s also unhealthy to carry extra weight on our frames. So how do we separate good diets from the bad?
In the chapters to come, we’ll take a good, hard look at the various weight-loss plans out there. I’ll pull no punches in my professional evaluation of some of the most wildly popular diets, both bad and good, of the past few years. And along the way, I’ll explore tried-and-true strategies for losing weight, based on my years of hospital experience, weight-loss seminars, and community outreach efforts. More often than not, the best answer is not a trendy celebrity-endorsed diet, but instead a few easy-to-follow guidelines that I’ve seen work in literally thousands of cases.
Enough is enough. It’s time for the madness—and the diets—to stop.
About the Author: 

LISA TILLINGER JOHANSEN, MS, RD is a Registered Dietitian who counsels clients on a wide range of health issues. Her debut nutrition book, Fast Food Vindication, received the Discovery Award (sponsored by USA Today, Kirkus and The Huffington Post).  She lives in Southern California.

Her latest book is the nonfiction/nutrition/health book, Stop the Diet, I Want To Get Off!

For More Information

31 July, 2015

French Lavender (2 fl oz) Best Essential Oil



I have recently started introducing essential oils into my household. I use the oils in a diffuser, make my soaps and sugar scrubs. I have even been making my household bathroom and window cleaners as I hate the smell of the chemicals that may found in everyday products.

Essential oils have so many benefits that you can't possibly run out of oil combinations or uses. So many uses, where do you begin. Well to start you want to buy good quality oils such as Sun Essential Oils. Then you can pick whatever oils that work for you and whatever you want.

French Lavender Essential Oil has been known to help with sleep support, brain and memory support, stress and mood management, digestive health and for use pre, during and post-pregnancy. I love to have a lavender mist and use it just before bedtime on my pillows. The smell of French Lavender is so relaxing that bedtime is a pleasure!

I received a 2 oz bottle of Sun Essential French Lavender Oil and I was not monetarily compensated for my review.

Where to purchase:
Amazon
Other Sun Organic Essential Oils for Purchase
Sun Organic


Blackwell's Homecoming by V.E.Ulett Spotlight with Giveaway!

02_Blackwell's Homecoming_CoverBlackwell's Homecoming by V.E. Ulett

Publication Date: December 19, 2014 
Publisher: Old Salt Press, LLC Formats: eBook, Paperback 
Pages: 278 
Series: Blackwell's Adventures, Book 3 Genre: Historical Fiction

  Add to GR Button    
“A very satisfying conclusion to the Blackwell's Adventures series, with lusty escapades tempered with amusing side passages, lively characters and a lovely ending.” - Broos Campbell, author of the Matty Graves series In a multigenerational saga of love, war and betrayal, Captain Blackwell and Mercedes continue their voyage in Volume III of Blackwell's Adventures. The Blackwell family's eventful journey from England to Hawaii, by way of the new and tempestuous nations of Brazil and Chile, provides an intimate portrait of family conflicts and loyalties in the late Georgian Age. Blackwell's Homecoming is an evocation of the dangers and rewards of desire.

PRAISE

"This entire trilogy has lots of adventure, lots of romance, and lots of wonderful settings that will thrill any historical fiction reader." - Meg Wessel, A Bookish Affair "A real pleasure to read, this book can stand alone, although I recommend reading the previous volumes to see additional development of the main characters." - Jeff Westerhoff, Historical Novels Review

03_VE Ulett_AuthorABOUT THE AUTHOR

A long time resident of California, V.E. Ulett is an avid reader as well as writer of historical fiction. Proud to be an Old Salt Press author, V.E. is also a member of the National Books Critics Circle and an active member and reviewer for the Historical Novel Society. Eighteenth and nineteenth century journals and letters inspired the writing of CAPTAIN BLACKWELL’S PRIZE. The sequels takes Captain Blackwell and Mercedes to the far side of the world, on new personal and cultural adventures. Coming soon from V.E. Ulett, a historical adventure with a fantastic edge. For more information visit V.E. Ulett's website. You can also find her on Facebook, Amazon, and Goodreads.

Read and Excerpt
Emma was collapsing with fatigue, her feet ached from the heeled satin pumps she wore, and she guessed it must be four o’clock in the morning. She was more than willing to retire, but when she looked into the card room she gave a little gasp. The card tables had already been taken away, and there were only servants remaining, carrying out chairs and glasses. She hurried, her heart thumping a little, and took a place in the line of people waiting for their carriages. It was always she who ordered the hackney or their carriage to be brought round, that was not a problem, but Emma missed Edward standing near her. She felt she must be conspicuous, an unescorted female, especially after the attention paid her earlier.
When her turn came at the head of the line, Emma spoke up. “A hackney coach to Curzon Street, if you please.”
“Oh, no, Miss! Not for you.” A man in pigtail and seaman’s garb was suddenly at her elbow. “His lordship, Captain Lord Cochrane sends his carriage.”
Emma recognized the coat of arms on the carriage, and with a murmured, “How kind”, she allowed herself to be handed in by the rough seaman. The man shut the door of the carriage and jumped up on the box alongside the driver. Emma sank back into the padded seat with a sigh, put off her shoes and promptly fell asleep.
She awoke when the carriage lurched to a halt. The door was opened by the same seaman, the steps let down, and Emma was out of the carriage and upon the pavement before she looked about her.
“This is not Curzon Street. Why have you brought me to Harley Street? This is Lord Cochrane’s house, surely—”
“Pipe down, Missy.”

Another man had appeared at Emma’s side, together the two seamen hustled her up the house steps and into the foyer.

BLOG TOUR SCHEDULE

Monday, July 27 
Spotlight & Excerpt at Unshelfish 
Spotlight & Excerpt at What Is That Book About 
Tuesday, July 28 
Review & Excerpt at Oh, For the Hook of a Book 
Wednesday, July 29 
Review at Book Nerd Review at Just One More Chapter 
Thursday, July 30 
Spotlight at A Literary Vacation 
Friday, July 31 
Spotlight at CelticLady's Reviews 
Sunday, August 2 
Review at Beth's Book Nook Blog (Blackwell's Paradise Audio Book) Monday, August 3 
Review at Beth's Book Nook Blog (Blackwell's Homecoming)

GIVEAWAY

To enter to win a paperback of Blackwell's Paradise, please enter via the GLEAM form below. Rules – Giveaway ends at 11:59pm EST on August 3rd. You must be 18 or older to enter. – Giveaway is open to residents in the US, UK, Canada & Australia only. – Only one entry per household. – All giveaway entrants agree to be honest and not cheat the systems; any suspect of fraud is decided upon by blog/site owner and the sponsor, and entrants may be disqualified at our discretion – Winner has 48 hours to claim prize or new winner is chosen. 

Enter Giveaway
Blackwell's Homecoming

05_Blackwell's Homecoming_Blog Tour Banner_FINAL

Behind the Tears by Marita A.Hansen Book Blitz


Behind the Tears
Behind the Lives Series #2
by Marita A. Hansen
Publication Date: December 24, 2012

Synopsis

To trust is to get hurt, to be loved could end in death. Everyone sees Ash as the toughest of the Rata brothers, the tall, tattooed man who is untouchable. But not many know of his past, of a tormented youth, which almost saw him take his own life. For ten years he's lived with the nightmares of his stepfather raping him, and how it destroyed his family. Further tormented by his first love leaving him, he tries to move forward with his new partner Beth, but is unable to open up to her, his past continuing to eat away at his soul. Beth knows Ash is keeping her in the dark, and every word he doesn't say, every secret he keeps, pushes her further into his brother's arms, someone who doesn't understand boundaries, a trait that has given Dante a wild reputation: the man every woman wants to bed. Hedonistic and uncontrollable, Dante desires Beth to the point of madness, his bipolar condition worsening with the stress of his hidden desires. He wants to control her, to take her, but he is deeply reliant on Ash, and like his brother, he hides his true nature. On the outside he shows a confident swagger that gets him the attention of both sexes, but on the inside all he wants is one woman who sees him as more than a sexual object. Sledge, the youngest of the three Rata brothers, finds himself in a different situation, dealing with the affections of his best friend: Beth's brother Corey. Diagnosed with cancer, Corey wants Sledge more than life itself, even though he believes Sledge is homophobic and would find him disgusting if he confessed his love. But when another man shows interest in Corey, Sledge's jealousy eats away at him, and makes him reassess his sexuality, and whether he could be more than a friend to Corey - whether he could be his lover. As the Rata family's love life is thrown into tangles, the brothers' stepfather escapes from prison with one thing on his mind: To get Ash once again. Someone he will kill for - and has killed for. (R18) Author's Note: Book 2 has different main characters from book 1. Due to this, you don't need to read book 1 to understand this story. Book 2 is more dark romance and family drama, while book one is street lit and social realism. Book 3 continues directly on from Book 2.

Purchase Links - Only $.99

Amazon US - http://tiny.cc/48x50x      
UK - http://tiny.cc/vay50x      
CA - http://tiny.cc/wby50x 
Barnes & Noble - http://tiny.cc/ocy50x

Other Books in the Series

PRE-ORDER YOUR COPY NOW!!
Behind the Lives #4 - Behind the Secrets
Amazon US / UK
Releasing - August 11, 2015

Synopsis

Too many secrets... When Beth receives potentially life-changing news that could ruin her future, she decides to keep it a secret from Dante, the man she hopes to marry. But Dante has his own problems as his deepest and darkest secret is revealed when someone from his childhood reappears, a secret so disturbing that it could unravel what’s left of his already unstable mind. Beth’s brother Corey struggles to keep his relationship with Dante’s brother a secret, scared his father will split them apart. But it’s his sister he has the most to fear from, when Beth takes advantage of his boyfriend’s vulnerable condition. Good cop or bad cop? Saul is eaten away by guilt over what he did to Beth while undercover. No longer willing to keep the assault a secret, he heads down a destructive path that turns him into something far worse than an abuser.
Behind the Lives #3 - Behind the Lens
Amazon US / UK

Synopsis

WARNING: Rated R18. Contains sexually explicit content, both M/F & M/M. Dante Rata learns what’s Behind the Lens in this explosive sequel to Behind the Tears. Dante has a problem with sex – he gets way too much of it. Women want him, force themselves upon him, fight each other to get into his bed, and this ripped to the bones sex god even attracts male admirers. But when Dante discovers hidden cameras in his bedroom, he soon learns his sexual prowess is famous and the women who have been throwing themselves at him are porn actresses, paid to trick him into performing for the financial gain of an underground pornography ring - an organisation who forces people into sexual slavery. Dante’s efforts to outwit Ant Torres, the porn-ring’s instigator, ends with Dante trapped into performing live for his fans; with the threat of death to his loved ones if he doesn’t. Dante’s brother, Sledge, also has a problem with sex – but with the same-sex. He finds himself attracted to Corey, his best mate. After Sledge is told devastating news about his family, he falls into Corey’s bed, taking him as a lover. Ashamed of what he has done, Sledge tries to hide the relationship from his family and friends, something which makes Corey feel like a dirty little secret. When he finds Sledge talking to a pair of females at a party, he flies into a jealous rage, outing Sledge in front of everyone. Humiliated, Sledge runs out on Corey, which inadvertently leads Corey to Torres’s bed, where he is made to perform for the camera. When Corey is dropped off at home, drugged and traumatised, Sledge learns about the pornography ring and the danger his brother is in. Intent on revenge as well as saving his brother, he sets out to bring down Torres, along with his crime syndicate anyway he can – whether it takes him with it or not.

About the Author

NATIONALITY AND CULTURAL CONNECTIONS: I'm a true blue Aucklander, born and bred in New Zealand. I tend to write about cultures I have connections to, such as Croatian and Maori. I would love to visit Croatia again as I have family there. However, in My Masters' Nightmare, I have started writing about Italians. My husband is part Italian and I also have a degree in Italian.
SPORTS: As a teen my favorite sports were karate, badminton, and running. I also did unarmed combat and played in a touch rugby team (my gym teacher made me do the last one!) Now, I stick to coaching soccer and running. I have completed two marathons, numerous half-marathons and one 30K run.
CAREER PATH: I started off as a Graphic Designer, then went to Auckland University, where I got a BA degree in Art History and Italian Studies and a post-graduate Honors degree in Art History. I worked in the Art History field, then became a full-time artist, doing commissions. I eventually lost all of my senses and gave it up to be a poor, starving writer, smh.
FAVORITE FOODS: I'm vegetarian. I love pasta based foods, tofu, chocolate mousse and golden queen peaches.
BAD HABITS: I'm a major procrastinator that can't seem to earn money to save myself!
STATUS: Married to my high school sweetheart (which he hates me calling him). We have two kids.

Author Links

30 July, 2015

Flask of the Drunken Master by Susan Spann Spotlight!!

02_Flask of the Drunken Master_CoverPublication Date: July 14, 2015 
Publisher: St. Martin's Press 
Formats: eBook, Hardcover 
ISBN-13: 9781250027061 
Pages: 304 
Series: Shinobi Mysteries (Volume 3) Genre: Historical Mystery

  Add to GR Button     

August 1565: When a rival artisan turns up dead outside Ginjiro's brewery, and all the evidence implicates the brewer, master ninja Hiro Hattori and Portuguese Jesuit Father Mateo must find the killer before the magistrate executes Ginjiro and seizes the brewery, leaving his wife and daughter destitute. A missing merchant, a vicious debt collector, and a female moneylender join Ginjiro and the victim's spendthrift son on the suspect list. But with Kyoto on alert in the wake of the shogun's recent death, a rival shinobi on the prowl, and samurai threatening Hiro and Father Mateo at every turn, Ginjiro's life is not the only one in danger. Will Hiro and Father Mateo unravel the clues in time to save Ginjiro's life, or will the shadows gathering over Kyoto consume the detectives as well as the brewer? Flask of the Drunken Master is the latest entry in Susan Spann's thrilling 16th century Japanese mystery series, featuring ninja detective Hiro Hattori and Jesuit Father Mateo.

Praise for Claws of the Cat

"Spann matches period detail with a well-developed whodunit plot in her promising debut, the first in a new series set in 16th-century Japan."

Shinobi Mystery Series Titles

Book One: Claws of the Cat (Library Journal Mystery Debut of the Month) Book Two: Blade of the Samurai Book Three: Flask of the Drunken Master

Flask of the Drunken Master Available at

Amazon Barnes & Noble

03_Susan Spann_AuthorAbout the Author

Susan Spann acquired her love of books and reading during her preschool days in Santa Monica, California. As a child she read everything from National Geographic to Agatha Christie. In high school, she once turned a short-story assignment into a full-length fantasy novel (which, fortunately, will never see the light of day). A yearning to experience different cultures sent Susan to Tufts University in Boston, where she immersed herself in the history and culture of China and Japan. After earning an undergraduate degree in Asian Studies, Susan diverted to law school. She returned to California to practice law, where her continuing love of books has led her to specialize in intellectual property, business and publishing contracts. Susan’s interest in Japanese history, martial arts, and mystery inspired her to write the Shinobi Mystery series featuring Hiro Hattori, a sixteenth-century ninja who brings murderers to justice with the help of Father Mateo, a Portuguese Jesuit priest. When not writing or representing clients, Susan enjoys traditional archery, martial arts, horseback riding, online gaming, and raising seahorses and rare corals in her highly distracting marine aquarium. Susan lives in Sacramento with her husband, son, three cats, one bird, and a multitude of assorted aquatic creatures. For more information please visit Susan Spann’s website and blog. You can also find her on Facebook, Twitter, and Goodreads.

Flask of the Drunken Master Blog Tour Schedule

Monday, July 6 
Excerpt at What Is That Book About 
Tuesday, July 7 
Review at Book Babe 
Wednesday, July 8 
Guest Post & Giveaway at To Read, Or Not to Read 
Spotlight & Giveaway at Raven Haired Girl 
Thursday, July 9 
Interview at Oh, for the Hook of a Book! 
Friday, July 10 
Guest Post & Giveaway at Unshelfish 
Monday, July 13 
Guest Post at Shelf Full of Books 
Spotlight at The Never-Ending Book 
Tuesday, July 14 
Review at Beth's Book Nook Blog 
Thursday, July 16 
Excerpt & Giveaway at Teddy Rose Book Reviews Plus More 
Friday, July 17 
Guest Post at Just One More Chapter 
Monday, July 20 
Guest Post & Giveaway at Booklover Book Reviews 
Wednesday, July 22 
Guest Post at Book Nerd 
Review, Guest Post, & Giveaway at Queen of All She Reads 
Thursday, July 23 
Interview & Excerpt at Jorie Loves a Story 
Friday, July 24 
Guest Post at Book Dilettante 
Monday, July 27 
Guest Post at Reading the Past 
Tuesday, July 28 
Spotlight at A Literary Vacation 
Thursday, July 30 
Guest Post & Excerpt at at Oh, for the Hook of a Book! 
Spotlight at CelticLady's Reviews 
Monday, August 3
Review at Svetlana's Reads and Views 
Tuesday, August 4 
Review at A Book Geek 
Wednesday, August 5 
Guest Post at Editing Pen 
Thursday, August 6 
Review at Diana's Book Reviews 
Friday, August 7 Guest Post at Boom Baby Reviews

04_Flask of the Drunken Master_Blog Tour Banner_FINAL

My Wounded Soldier by Diane Munier Blog Tour!

Dating Wars by Ravyn Rayne Spotlight!

Dating Wars
Federal Agent Chronicles Series #2
by Ravyn Rayne
Publication Date: July 6, 2015
Publisher: Blushing Books 

Synopsis

Finding love in all the wrong places. When a serial rapist and murderer targets women on an online dating website, FBI Agent Leslie Hunter must pose as a potential match at a bar. How hard could it be? She’s been dating online for years. While undercover, Leslie meets a handsome gentleman. She can’t tell Kevin her profession without ruining the investigation. How long can she keep this man out of danger without revealing she’s an FBI Agent? A taste of pole dancing, phone sex, and spankings combined with a lick of danger. A romantic erotica story that’s sure to leave your heart racing and pleased afterwards.

Purchase Links

Amazon US - http://tiny.cc/16v50x
Amazon UK - http://tiny.cc/d7v50x
Amazon CA - http://tiny.cc/87v50x
Barnes & Noble - http://tiny.cc/u8v50x

Other Books in the Series

Amazon US/UK

Meet Ravyn Rayne

Ravyn is a sassy, fun-loving, and adventure-seeking young woman. She loves to travel and can’t wait for her next vacation, wherever it might be.
Ravyn writes romantic erotica. She began writing romance novels in college, spending her down time either reading a book or writing fiction. Please don’t make her choose between the two, she loves them equally.
Although BURNING DESIRE is her debut romantic erotica novel, it is not her first published book. She has been published professionally since 2013. You can find her other books here.

Stalker Links
For less steamy reads: Blog | Facebook | Twitter

29 July, 2015

MIRA Stainless Steel French Press Coffee Tea Brewer Double Wall 1 Liter 34 Ounces



As I said in my review of the Stainless Steel French Press, my hubby and I are coffee snobs, to the point that we each have our own coffee makers, he has a regular type drip coffee maker and I have a single cup maker. As far as different coffees, like your regular grocery store types, not for us, no, we have to have really great quality coffee from either local coffee shops or I order online. 

I received this French Coffee Press from MIRA for review also, I was so happy. It is really pretty, looks great on the counter or table, wherever I leave it. I don't use it every morning but it is perfect for when I do decide that I want something really good in the morning. I get my water boiling in a glass teapot, add the desired amount of ground coffee, you may need to adjust the amount of grounds, this is tricky until you do it a few times, add the boiling water, stir a bit, put the cover that has the plunger attached and wait at least 5 minutes for the coffee to brew. Push down the plunger and you have 34 oz of hot delicious coffee.

This Stainless Steel French Press really does keep the coffee hot for at least 2 hours, I forced myself to leave some in the pot just to see how long it would stay warm even though I wanted to drink the coffee and it was just about 2 hours and the coffee was still hot, just like the other french press I reviewed. The pot is easy to clean and is so pretty, plus because of the double wall construction of the press, the outside does not get hot to the point that you would get burned if you touched it, It has a more straight design than the other pot I reviewed, not rounded, but still nice looking. My daughter took this french press to work with her and it is a hit among her coworkers

I also think that this pot will last for a long long time also. Is it worth the price?  I think that it is definitely worth the price and if you are looking for a great quality french press, than this is the one for you! You can also use this pot for loose tea, same principle, but adjust the amount of loose tea to your taste.

Again I received the Stainless Steel French Press from MIRA for review and I was not monetarily compensated for said review.

Product Description

Stainless Steel French Press 
Step up your brunch game and glam up your breakfast table with this chic and stylish French press coffee pot. The polished mirror finish and clean design will stand out against all other coffee pots, and at the same time, it will compliment any kitchen décor.

Keep Warm for 2 hours
This pot can brew up to 8 cups of coffee or tea at once, so whether you want a quick cup in the morning, or enough to share with friends, this pot is perfect. With a double-walled, insulated interior, this pot will keep its contents hot for up to 2 hours, so go ahead and stretch out your Sunday brunch. While the coffee inside stays piping hot, the inner insulation allows the carafe's outer surface to remain cool enough to be held, for easy pouring. This pot conveniently doubles as a serving piece, so you can brew and serve your coffee right from the dining table - no need to keep running back and forth to a hot plate.

Unbreakable,Stainless Steel
Made of high-quality 18/10 stainless steel, this piece is naturally free of BPA. The stainless steel repels lingering flavors, so you can change up your beans or tea leaves without tasting whatever was brewed last. The carafe is dishwasher safe, and will not discolor or crack over time, the way a glass pot might. The three-piece stainless steel plunger features an ultra-fine mesh filter, so that you can get the most out of your beans. This filter allows subtle aromas and flavors to stand out, while preventing any sediment or grounds from making their way into your cup.

If you're a coffee lover who needs a sustainable alternative to pricey cafes, this French press coffee pot is just what you're looking for. So go ahead, pour yourself another cup, enjoy. 


MIRA Double Wall Stainless Steel French Press 34 oz, 1 liter, 8 Coffee Cups Capacity (Coffee Press Pot, Plunger, Cafetiere) Review!


My hubby and I are coffee snobs, to the point that we each have our own coffee makers, he has a regular type drip coffee maker and I have a single cup maker. As far as different coffees, like your regular grocery store types, not for us, no, we have to have really great quality coffee from either local coffee shops or I order online. 

I received this French Coffee Press from MIRA for review, I was so happy. It is really pretty, looks great on the counter or table, wherever I leave it. I don't use it every morning but it is perfect for when I do decide that I want something really good in the morning. I get my water boiling in a glass teapot, add the desired amount of ground coffee, this is tricky until you do it a few times, add the boiling water, stir a bit, put the cover that has the plunger attached and wait at least 5 minutes for the coffee to brew. Push down the plunger and you have 34 oz of hot delicious coffee.

This Stainless Steel French Press really does keep the coffee hot for at least 2 hours, I forced myself to leave some in the pot just to see how long it would stay warm even though I wanted to drink the coffee and it was just about 2 hours and the coffee was still hot. The pot is easy to clean and is so pretty, I love the roundness of this press. plus because of the double wall construction of the press, the outside does not get hot to the point that you would get burned if you touched it. 

I also think that this pot will last for a long long time. I do have another glass french type press that is from a popular company but that one does not keep the coffee hot for very long, you have to drink the coffee right away. So is this pot worth the price, which is very reasonable by the way, I think that it is definitely worth the price and if you are looking for a great quality french press, than this is the one for you!

Again I received the Stainless Steel French Press from MIRA for review and I was not monetarily compensated for said review.

Product Description

Stainless Steel French Press
Step up your brunch game and glam up your breakfast table with this chic and stylish Stainless Steel French Press coffee pot. The polished mirror finish and clean design will stand out against all other coffee pots, and at the same time, it will compliment any kitchen décor.

Keep Warm for 2 hours
This pot can brew up to 8 cups of coffee or tea at once, so whether you want a quick cup in the morning, or enough to share with friends, this pot is perfect. With a double-walled, insulated interior, this pot will keep its contents hot for up to 2 hours, so go ahead and stretch out your Sunday brunch. While the coffee inside stays piping hot, the inner insulation allows the carafe's outer surface to remain cool enough to be held, for easy pouring. This pot conveniently doubles as a serving piece, so you can brew and serve your coffee right from the dining table - no need to keep running back and forth to a hot plate.

Unbreakable,Stainless Steel
Made of high-quality 18/10 stainless steel, this piece is naturally free of BPA. The stainless steel repels lingering flavors, so you can change up your beans or tea leaves without tasting whatever was brewed last. The carafe is dishwasher safe, and will not discolor or crack over time, the way a glass pot might. The three-piece stainless steel plunger features an ultra-fine mesh filter, so that you can get the most out of your beans. This filter allows subtle aromas and flavors to stand out, while preventing any sediment or grounds from making their way into your cup.

If you're a coffee lover who needs a sustainable alternative to pricey cafes, this Stainless Steel French Press is just what you're looking for. So go ahead, pour yourself another cup, enjoy. 
Purchase Link

To Tame the Wind by Regan Walker Spotlight!

ReganWalker_ToTametheWind - 800px

Publication Date: May 9, 2015 CreateSpace eBook; 294p Series: Agents of the Crown (Prequel) Genre: Historical Romance
  
     

Paris 1782…AN INNOCENT IS TAKEN All Claire Donet knew was the world inside the convent walls in Saint-Denis. She had no idea her beloved papa was a pirate. But when he seized Simon Powell's schooner, the English privateer decided to take the one thing his enemy held most dear... her. A BATTLE IS JOINED The waters between France and England roil with the clashes of Claire's father and her captor as the last year of the American Revolution rages on the sea, spies lurk in Paris and Claire’s passion for the English captain rises.

PRAISE

“A sea adventure like no other, a riveting romance!” -NY Times bestselling author Shirlee Busbee “Another exciting historical romance from Regan Walker” –NY Times Bestselling Author Virginia Henley “I was hooked from the first page! Political intrigue, a bit of mystery and a beautifully developed romance that swept me from Paris to London and to the waters of the English Channel! Very, very, very well done!” –The Reading Cafe

AMAZON

03_Regan WalkerABOUT THE AUTHOR

Bestselling author Regan Walker loved to write stories as a child, particularly those about adventure-loving girls, but by the time she got to college more serious pursuits took priority. One of her professors encouraged her to pursue the profession of law, which she did. Years of serving clients in private practice and several stints in high levels of government gave her a love of international travel and a feel for the demands of the “Crown” on its subjects. Hence her romance novels often involve a demanding sovereign who taps his subjects for “special assignments.” And in each of her novels, there is always real history and real historic figures. Regan lives in San Diego with her golden retriever, Link, whom she says inspires her every day to relax and smell the roses. For more information please visit Regan Walker’s website and blog. You can also find her on Facebook, Twitter, and Goodreads.

BLOG TOUR SCHEDULE

Monday, July 27 
Spotlight at Passages to the Past 
Tuesday, July 28 
Review at Diana's Book Reviews 
Wednesday, July 29 
Spotlight at CelticLady's Reviews 
Guest Post at Susan Heim on Writing 
Thursday, July 30 
Interview at Yelena Casale's Blog 
Friday, July 31 
Review at Kristin Un-Ravelle'd 
Saturday, August 1 
Spotlight at Genre Queen 
Monday, August 3 Review at "Good Friends, Good Books and a Sleepy Conscience: This is the Ideal Life." 
Tuesday, August 4 
Review at Shelly's Book Shelves 
Thursday, August 6 
Spotlight at Long Ago Love 
Friday, August 7 Review at Book Nerd 
Thursday, August 13 
Interview at Books and Benches 
Friday, August 14 Guest Post at Passages to the Past

04_To Tame the Wind_Blog Tour Banner_FINAL

Planters of the Crown by Patrick Highers Spotlight



The Book

Cora came from nothing but experienced everything in a time of piracy, legend, and brutal persecution. Propelled by forces beyond her control, Cora endures the life of a planter in 16th century Ireland only to discover that those she trusted most would betray her. Her story is about powerful women and a man who could change her fate forever. Ireland’s story is about the rule of Queen Elizabeth and those that opposed the monarchy. Grit and intensity, turbulent times of high adventure and drama, mire Cora’s life with an uncertain fate. Will her every hardship bring an equal or greater blessing? She did not know, but she was ready to fight for all that she had learned to love. It was the Reformation, it was Ireland.





The Author

Patrick Highers is a retired United States Marine, who currently works in public service. He has been the recipient of the Irving Rubenstein Memorial Award from the International Military Community Executives’ Association and has been cited for significant achievement in military contributions by the National Recreation and Parks Association. Patrick is an alumnus of American Military University, where he received a Bachelor of Arts in Business. He enjoys family, history, and meeting remarkable people in remarkable places. His novel Planters of the Crown begins a series of historical fiction that will entwine the reader and characters in an incredible journey of life at the dawn of the Golden Age.

Follow the Author

http://patrickhighers.tateauthor.com/
https://www.facebook.com/authorpatrickhighers
https://twitter.com/patrickhighers
https://www.pinterest.com/pmhighers/

Read an Excerpt

An excerpt from the chapter, Brittle Ground:     

Ice covered everything in a crystalline film of intricately woven fibers, forming as the morning dew refused to evaporate and steadfastly clung to solid form. It was the coldest day of the season—a frost that came with a freezing that would last for months. The penetrating chill reached down into the earth without mercy to lock every living thing that might crawl or burrow in perpetual dormancy. This was a day that the dead would be counted and the living would blunder through the momentous task of breaking earth and picking stones. 

The planters were hauling the bodies out of the small community, and up onto the hilly ground outside the town of Carraigaholley. Richard rode behind, sickened with each turn as the thumping misshapen wheel banged down, jarring the corpses with unmerciful regularity. The canvas tarp had worked itself loose again and was flapping in the wind. His horse strained to break free and run past an outstretched arm that jutted out of the pile. The cold gray forearm disappearing in a mass of hair and bloody cloth that hinted of the gruesome cargo. He knew they were stacked under the tarp like cordwood, one atop the other. The cracked wood of the oxcart bowed at the sides, and he turned his eyes to avoid looking at the backs of the women marching up ahead. “Seven, not counting the girl,” Richard told Darby, the husky farmer who galloped up beside him. 

Darby was his friend; he was trusted among the chiefs, and Richard was grateful for his presence today. “Seven of our men, or seven in all?” Darby asked. “Seven of the English and one little girl. The mother’s up ahead.” Darby shook his head sadly. He was a broad-shouldered man with gentle blue eyes and a graying red beard that extended all the way down to his navel. “Where is the little one? How old was she?” Darby asked as his eyes showed a remorse that indicated a fatherly concern. “Her mother took her . . . last night, alone. The woman wrapped the girl’s body, couldn’t have been more than eight or nine years old.” Richard had not noticed the child among them; he remembered only the two boys, but he knew of the girl now. 

“I gave the mother what she needed.” Anything he thought to spare her more grief. Darby began to say something, his questioning eyes giving tell to the thoughts that Richard answered before he could speak. “The mother said she needed a knife and cloth and would accept nothing else.” Darby looked at the back of the women’s heads. They looked beaten, inconsolable. “Strange. Does she not have a man to comfort her, to help her?” Darby asked, noticing Emma Colley walking alone way ahead of the rest and carrying a handbag that seemed lavishly out of place among the mourners. Richard knew where her husband was but didn’t answer; the sickness of his wife’s attack had finally hit him. 

“What happened? What went wrong?” Darby asked. Richard was fixed in a position now because of Grace, his mind not really hearing what Darby was saying. “I’ll help them. I’ll help the women put these poor souls to rest,” Darby said, knowing his chief was preoccupied. “There are some that are able to dig, Darby. They are at the gravesite now, pulling the sod and piling the stones. Best leave them alone.” The two men watched on horseback from a distance as the planters made it to the summit and joined the men to bury their loved as well as the crew of the Humbart Keel.

Amazon

Please Share!

Pin It!

Printfriendly

Google+ Badge

Skimlinks 1

Search This Blog

Loading...